Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Sharpie – nail art saviour

QUOTE2

I recently purchased two Barrym Nail Art Pens from Superdrug during one of their free delivery offers. I was really excited to finally get these wonderful tools as a lot of my nailista friends adore them. I tried them out and I have to say… I didn’t like them at all. I found that the lines didn’t flow and generally they were a bit of a pain to use. I was checking in with ATN to find out if it was just me when someone said they had a similar problem and that they use Sharpie pens instead. I thought it was worth a shot and since mine cost just £1 that’s a whole £3.99 cheaper than the Barrym Pens. I read a great tip on Brijit’s Digits about topcoating Sharpie – instead of dragging across the nail as you normally would you dab over the design and then once that’s dry you add topcoat over the top in the normal way. Works perfectly.

quote3For this manicure I used two coats of OPI Vant To Bite My Neck which is a lovely dark and dusty purple creme polish from this years Eurocentral Collection. On my accent nails I used two coats of Tara’s Talons #quote which is from one of her collections a couple of months ago. I think the orange tones compliment the purple perfectly. Tara makes a lot of unique polishes so whilst you won’t be able to get your hands on this beauty I am sure you’ll be able to find another in her Etsy Store.

Quote4

#Quote is packed full of glitter in a couple of different sizes and is a little party on my nails, the finish was a little rough so I added topcoat before starting my doodles. You need to be sure that your base polish is 100% dry or you’ll scrap holes in it but other than that, using a sharpie is just like using a pen on your nails so no special skills required.

I can’t wait to do more designs now that I have found my perfect nail art pen – I think I will be investing in a few more colours soon too. Removal is exactly the same as any other polish and I had no staining from any of these polishes.

 

quote1

 

7 comments on “Sharpie – nail art saviour

  1. debbie jarman
    November 8, 2013

    so pretty and love that purple!

  2. breakrulesnotnails
    November 8, 2013

    I discovered recently that you can use gel ink pens too, they work great and come in so many different colours. Cheap too!! Thanks for the tips! 🙂

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      November 8, 2013

      hmmm I might have to try out some gel ink pens next! The strange things in my nail drawer…

  3. Catherine Dream
    November 8, 2013

    I was staring at the barry m pens in Boots the other day, but the tips just didn’t appeal to me, I though they might cause problems with application or something. Glad I didn’t get them : )

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      November 8, 2013

      I know that quite a few people (whose opinion I trust) do like them so it might just be me failing lol but as I said – I love the sharpie and it’s much cheaper to try out first.

      • Catherine Dream
        November 8, 2013

        Exactly, I think most people have it at home : )

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
