Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Lest We Forget

Poppies1In Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row,
That mark our place; and in the sky
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.

We are the Dead. Short days ago
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
Loved and were loved, and now we lie,
In Flanders fields.

Take up our quarrel with the foe:
To you from failing hands we throw
The torch; be yours to hold it high.
If ye break faith with us who die
We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
In Flanders fields. 

– John McCrae

Poppies2

I put together a simple poppy manicure for Armistice Day using OPI Stranger Tides (pale green), OPI Date at the Golden Gate (red), OPI Incognito in Sausalito (dark blue) and Nails Inc Knightsbridge Green (Green). All applied with a basic small brush. I’ve done poppy designs before with a dotting tool but wanted a more natural and loose design, so this is what I came up with.

When I was in secondary school I went to the battlefields near Ypres, Belgium and it has a truly sad and beautiful atmosphere – haunting. It is one of those trips that has always stayed with me – its so easy to remember the big things and forget the small but I remember in colour and details some of the memorials and the days spent there. Very rainy, very muddy but vivid and haunting. Anyway, that’s all from me today! I hope you’re having a great start to the week.

Poppies3

5 comments on “Lest We Forget

  1. debbie jarman
    November 11, 2013

    lovely! and stranger tides is a great backdrop for the poppies x

  2. Laurie Lovett-Parsons
    November 11, 2013

    I love the poppy manicure. I am going to save this and give this a try. In the USA, we celebrate Veteran’s Day today where we remember all the veterans. I do happen to be wearing poppy earrings and a poppy bracelet though. In the USA, we celebrate Memorial Day at the end of May with poppies. My grandmother who is now 99 years-old took donations outside the supermarket for paper poppies for the Veterans of Foreign Wars over Memorial day weekend.
    The money collected went to disabled vets and I believe the paper poppies were also made by them. Women attach them to their purses and men sometimes attach them to their suits in a show of support. My grandfather fought in WWII.
    My grandmother did the poppy thing for about 50 years I think (only stopping when she moved to Florida to live with my aunt after Nana fell and broke her leg). She is fine now. Anyway, Nana became known in town as “the Poppy Lady” and poppies will always have a special place in my heart. Sorry for being so long. Very nice mani though and I promise to try it.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      November 12, 2013

      Your Nana sounds like an amazing lady and I’d glad she’s doing well down in Florida! We have the paper poppies here too – I have been meaning to get one this year but haven’t seen anyone selling them while I’ve been out (although I’ve been hiding in the house writing a lot recently). Loving the sound of your jewelry too! Let me know how your go at poppies goes 😀

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Polishes | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
