Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Winter Pastel

I’ve been wearing a lot of dark and warm colours lately but yesterday when trying to decide what to wear none of these colours felt right… I wanted something different. Luckily, the mailman brought me some lovely nail mail including OPI You’re Such A Budapest from the 2013 Eurocentral Spring collection. Something in my brain thinks that pastels should just be for spring but when I unwrapped this nail polish there was something wintery about the colour (it is a shade more purple in real life but as usual the camera has different ideas). I did a colour comparison between this and Rimmel Lycra Pro Aqua Cool and Rimmel Lycra Pro Ultra Violet but neither colour is really even close – Budapest is much lighter and softer but definitely closer to the blue than the pinkier purple. So definitely a unique colour in my stash.

Budapest6

Sorry about the dry skin!

Budapest

You’re Such A Budapest in the grey light of day.

Being quite pale I am always a little bit wary of grey blues encase they translate as corpsey but this colour is so much more complex than that. It’s described as a periwinkle purple which is fairly accurate but there is a powdery greyness to it which softens it and keeps it away from being a granny lavender. I am not the biggest purple fan and don’t wear lots of pastels but this is just so lovely. Application on this was not as smooth as the darker colours and I found dry time to be a little bit longer – I ended up using three thin coats although you could possibly start with one thin and then a thicker on on top. The bottle does show a slight silver shimmer but that doesn’t seem apparent on the nail. I wore this colour

plain for most of the day but decided to dress it up a bit.

Budapest5 Budapest3 Budapest2I added a single coat of Maybelline ColorShow Chalk Dust which is a great mix of black and white hex glitter that retails for just £2.99 – a lot of highstreet brands picked up on this indie glitter trend and it is so complimentary to all colours I’ve worn it over – some the neons in the summer to dark colours this fall. There’s something about this combination that reminds me of stone – like a splattered marble floor or something. I added a thin coat of my favourite Color Club Top Coat to smooth the finish and add gloss.

As you can see from the pictures my moisturising today has improved things a little bit – I think the cold weather caught me off guard – so back on the oil and lemony flutter for me. The change of the weather really does affect skin, for the most part my hands don’t really suffer from the abuses of remover and the elements which is why this wear and tear was a bit of a shocker.

Sorry if this is a bit rambley but there is a headache brewing – must be time for another cup of tea. I think with the first snow falling in New York maybe the change from autumn to winter shades is upon us! Have any colours surprised you recently? What are your go to colours for the change of the season?  But hopefully I can sneak in some more of my vampy darks as I had some amazing OPIs arrive this week and I still have some stunning Nails Inc to share too! Ahhh so little time so few nails.

11 comments on “Winter Pastel

  1. debbie jarman
    November 13, 2013

    such a pretty colour, looks a bit like Nails Inc Bluebell. Love it with the chalk dust on too – perfect!

  2. Catherine Dream
    November 13, 2013

    I don’t wear pastels generally, but this is nice, maybe because it’s a kinda cold shade, and I love it on you!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      November 13, 2013

      Aww thank you 🙂 It’s really not one of my normal colours (at all) but it’s still on my nails and I am not sure I will take it off tonight either but we’ll see. I need to change soon as I have nothing left to blog about lol

      • Catherine Dream
        November 13, 2013

        Haha, I know that feeling, you gotta do something to blog about ; ))

  3. Laurie Lovett-Parsons
    November 13, 2013

    I really like to change to a pastel once in awhile this time of year just for a break from the dark colors. This is really a great color. Your choice to set it off with the maybelline color show chalk dust really sets it off nicely and it doesn’t just look like an ordinary pastel in winter. It is a great combination. Nice job!!!

  4. procrastacreation
    December 12, 2013

    That’s such a gorgeous shade of blue! ❤

  5. Pingback: ATN Purple for BEAT: Eating Disorder Awareness Week | Pocket Money Polishes

  6. Pingback: Rainbow Series with Imagination In Colour: Pardon my purple | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on November 12, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
