Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Autumn Ombre

AutumnOmbre2

I know last week I was feeling wintery but this week I am back in autumn mode. My garden is actually full of ever greens but when I walk to the shops I get to enjoy the pretty colours on the trees (not so much the soggy sludge on the floor).

When I opened my polish draw these polishes seem to have been drawn together and so I did what seemed obvious and made an ombre. There were lots of options but this was simple and bright  – I did contemplate dappling and even a gradient but I think this way was quicker, easier and has the same impact.

AutumnOmbre4For this combination I used OPI Ginger Bells, China Glaze Papaya Punch, China Glaze Happy Go Lucky, China Glaze Electric Pineapple and Bondi In the Lime-Light. The formulas on these polishes varied quite a bit – the Bondi polish was nice and even in two coats while Electric Pineapple needed three. I found Papaya Punch and Happy Go Lucky had a slightly thick formula that was patchy in the first coat but evened on the second – these both had a slightly longer than usual dry time. OPI Ginger Bells was a breeze to apply but has a slightly sheerer formula- something jelly-ish about its caramel colouring which needed two coats for opacity. My favourite brush is definitely the OPI which is so easy to use for a neat application. I used a small acrylic brush to tidy the cuticle lines on the other nails.

AutumnOmbre3

AutumnOmbre

To finish the look I reversed the order on my other hand. There are loads of ways to extend the wear of this mani by adding to the design – such as gradiants and stamping. I think this would look great with black stripes – something that would make the colours really pop. I like that these colours whilst bright have a softness that you wouldn’t get from their neon counterparts – perfect for this time of year when you want something cheery without being too summery. Maybe I will do a full nail across my nails at some point. What do you think of this mani? How would you jazz it up? Do you like wearing multiple colours in the same manicure?

7 comments on “Autumn Ombre

  1. Catherine Dream
    November 17, 2013

    I love it! I get bored sometimes with just one coloured mani, this is brilliant : D And you’re right, a geometric black design over it would look awesome, maybe even tribal print?

  2. Laurie Lovett-Parsons
    November 18, 2013

    Very cheerful and pretty. I have never tried doing each nail a different color like this but will keep it in mind for the future. I LOVE your choice of colors! They really complement each other. I personally wouldn’t dress this mani up a bit. I think it is perfect in its simplicity. I think dressing it up too much might cause the beautiful colors to not show through as well and the mani to look too busy.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      November 18, 2013

      You could be right! 🙂 Thanks lovely! P.S. finished working on the December collection today, I think you’re going to like it.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on November 17, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
