Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Zoya Haul

zoya

L-R Channing, Mimi, Giovanna, Daul, Edyta

As I mentioned I put in an order for some polishes on New Years Eve and here they are – very quick service from TNBL and the packaging was excellent. I am impressed, would recommend for definite and will be using again as soon as there are more pennies in the account.

Previously the only Zoya in my collection was Thandie which is an orange with slight coral tones – I don’t love it, the formula was nothing special and I have only worn it once. I was never really bothered by the brand as it was pretty expensive to get hold of here in the UK. When I came across the brand at a reasonable price I decided to go for it and give it a try. Zoya is a pretty cool brand with amazing offers (stateside) and a good story – WPP has a great blog about the brand – apparently the names comes from strong inspirational women.

So anyway, I did some speedy swatching of four of the five I received today (I have been warned that Giovanna is a stainer so I will probably wait to use that when I have time to do extra base coats). Please do click on the pictures for a larger version – the sparkles are too pretty!

ZoyaCollage

Mimi Mimi from the 2010 Zoya Sparkle CollectionLike most royal purples this polish refused to show its true colour on camera but trust me this is PURPLE with blue sparkle and then a magical duochrome flip at the right angle (to a dusty raisin/gold). I had this on my nails for most of the evening before I got back to swatching work and couldn’t stop looking on it. I didn’t really want to take it off but at the same time I knew I had other colours to play with. I know it looks a bit like NI Camden Lock here but trust me the gold sparkle in this is different and it’s way more purple.

Purple is not normally my cup of tea but I love the indigo and violet tones in the depths of this warm royal purple. The glass flecks are just magical and this has a nice gloss of its own even before topcoat. Pictures show 3 very thin coats. Formula was pretty perfect to work with and the brush that comes with Zoya is pretty bog standard (similar to Barrym) so no hardship there either. Now I am not sure which Mimi this is named after but the one that springs to mind is the one from RENT and I think this polish suits this nighttime gal down to the ground – mysterious, beautiful, complicated and loves a good night out.

Edyta2

Edyta from Wicked/Wonderful Fall 2010. This polish is… wow. While going back through my order I actually semi-regretted choosing this one over Claudine which I thought I would be more likely to wear. This polish is incredibly gorgeous and may in fact be my surprise favourite from this haul. A deep blackened forest green with glass fleck in some lights transforms into a tealy-green blackened gold in others. This polish is incredibly chic which I think can sometimes be hard to achieve when there is so much sparkle going on but I think the colour is just great – especially for winter nights/days. I would definitely recommend base coat for this – while it didn’t stain it does have teal in its base and it might leave a mark on nails without protective undies. This was more opaque than Mimi but for consistency I used three coats although two was absolutely fine. Nothing to report about the formula – absolutely fine. The only small problem with these polishes is that the sparkles aren’t the easiest things to tidy up but not a biggie really.

Channing2

Channing from the Satin Fall collection 2013. I thought it was going to be my favourite polish with its rusting burnt red-y orange glow but I whilst I do like it… I don’t know. It just didn’t wow me in the same way as the first two did. There is a definite glow and shimmer to this polish which applied fairly easily in 3 coats – I did have a small brush stroke drama on the second coat but with a light hand this evened up in the end. It is a perfect autumn shade and a nice polish, just no wow factor for me. I am pretty sure you will be able to find a dupe for this polish without looking too hard.

Ok on to the polish that is the most unique and new to my collection…

Daul2Daul from the Diva Fall Collection 2012. The combination of purple and rich pale gold in this polish makes me think of fine silks and foreign lands. It is the most sheer of my haul (here at three coats on shorties you can see a colour difference on my limited free edge) BUT it is so worth it. The deep purple seen here fades out to lavender with lots of pale gold interference glassy glossy sparkle in most lights. I am not a huge duo-chrome fan and would normally think polishes like this are wishy washy however, in this case there is nothing wishy washy and the sharp glints of colour really keep this from being blah. It is a princess polish, it is feminine and not sorry about it. I think for an even easier coverage just put on a nude and then add this on top – no biggy. I think this polish has the potential to look awesome layered too.

All of this polishes have a really good drying time and no dragging or glooping. I didn’t have any massive flooding issues although picking up wayward sparkles wasn’t super fun it was doable and they wash off eventually anyway. Totally worth it for the final look. I am definitely off Zoya hunting again soon – I miss my OPI prowide brush but that’s about it when it comes to comparing the two brands. I am not sure I would buy Zoya cremes (purely because I like the OPIs) but speciality sparkles? Yes yes yes.

Do you have any favourite brands or brands you’d like to try this year? What’s your favourite Zoya? Let me know with a comment below!

15 comments on “Zoya Haul

  1. Lisa N.
    January 5, 2014

    Great Zoya haul!

  2. Char
    January 5, 2014

    Wow you have been busy swatching Charlie 😀 they look amazing, I am so tempted to order some x

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      January 5, 2014

      Do it! There are a lo that I would pass on but Zoya definitely has a few polishes that are special.

  3. Laurie Lovett-Parsons
    January 5, 2014

    Zoya is one of my favorite for mainstream polishes. They run some good deals, too.

  4. blimbo2005
    January 6, 2014

    totally in love with zoya and just place a order for 3 more today. so far my favorite is the pixie dust line.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      January 19, 2014

      Which is your favourite pixie? .Sorry for the slow reply, I missed this comment by accident 😦

      • blimbo2005
        January 20, 2014

        So far it is Liberty.

  5. Emma
    January 7, 2014

    Pretty!! xx

  6. Pingback: Rainbow Series with Imagination In Colour: Pardon my purple | Pocket Money Polishes

  7. anna
    May 7, 2014

    My favorite zoyas are probably Tomoko and Blaze.

  8. Pingback: D is for: Dragon | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on January 4, 2014 by in Mainstream, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
