Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Xena Warrior Nails

Whatwizardry

Today’s mani started out as a swatch of OPI What Wizardry Is This? which then evolved as Friday night procrastination set in. I was actually thinking about coffee and the gold foil you get on the top of the pots that break so satisfactorily with a stab of a spoon…. turned out looking more like warrior armour. Any which way, this is what I have on my nails this evening.

What Wizardry Is This? is the liquid sand from last years Wizard of Oz collection which considered of some sheer pinks, nudes and a few golden and iridescent glitters – nothing that wowed me.

I have a few textured polishes and this one just looked so gorgeous – hey, it’d brown with golden flashes, what’s not to love? As I lay in bed last night however, the texture drove me to distraction, it just felt so alien having rough nails. I ended up adding top coat so that I didn’t stay awake all night stroking the liquid sand finish and shuddering. The top coat brought out the deeper tones in the polish as well as the sparkle.

WhatWizardry2

It’s still not glass smooth but it wasn’t distracting anymore. Huzzah. Application on this was really easy and I found the dry time to be really reasonable. Works best if applied in thin layers, I used three in the end but you might get away with 2 if they’re thicker.

Whatwizardry4

Then I got creative…I received some fab nail art glitters with one of my secret santa packages and really anted to use them. These glitters are 2-3mm that I stuck on with some thick topcoat (the left overs of one of my CC bottles). I then added some stamping onto my ring finger and promptly decided I didn’t like that. I took off the polish and replaced with China Glaze Fast Track from the Hunger Games collection which is a light taupey beige with golden shimmer. I used three thin coats here.

WhatWizardry3

 

WhatWizardry5

 

So there you go 😀 I had fun mixing and matching. Absolutely loving What Wizardry Is This? and have no problem with the fact I need to topcoat it a little – still looks gorgeous and I topcoat polishes normally so not really adding any extra work or time for me. Top tip for removing glitters/tough polishes – add a thick coat of polish over the top and when it’s still tacky use your remover and soak. This should make it easier and quicker to remove the glitters as the polish layers have become loosened by the tacky polish on top.

3 comments on “Xena Warrior Nails

  1. Lisa N.
    January 10, 2014

    How nice! 🙂

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      January 10, 2014

      Thankies – they’re a bit different. I possibly should have cut a glitter in half to finish off that accent nail but it’s all fun 🙂

  2. Pingback: Getting somewhere | Jaye Em Edgecliff

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2014 by in Mainstream, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
