Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

OPI: Jade Is The New Black

GreenCompare I thought I would start today’s post with a quick comparison of some the  greens in my collection. I am not really a massive green collector as I find the yellow tone in my skin makes me look a little bit sick when paired with the wrong green. I usually lean towards dark olives and evergreens… gotta love a good dark green. When I had the opportunity to pick up OPI Jade Is The New Black I was a little bit unsure, I decided to go for it because to me it is one of those cult colours that OPI addicts have always raved about. I had to find out what the fuss was about. As you can see it sits firmly green amongst it’s bluer companions. Electric Dreams is a turquoise but it looked greeny when I pulled it out of my drawer so thought I would add it here. The closest dupe is Chick Polish Moss but that is slightly dustier in my opinion – I have had this polish for a while, have never really used it. To be honest, I have been trying to sell or swap it for a while as it has been most unloved while it has lived in my collection. Barrym Watermelon and NI Great Dover Street are a lot darker and I think both are really chic for the winter in that looks dark without actually being black cateory. I think this is only one coat of the BarryM – not sure why I didn’t do two… my bad.  Nails Inc Knightsbridge Green was a bit of a poo for this photoshoot and refused to be captured but it is far brighter and more saturated that it is showing here, additional warning it stains REALLY badly. As you can see Jade Is The New Black has no dupes at all in my collection and I LOVE IT. I can totally understand why everyone raves about this polish and I hope I can explain it to you now 😀

 

JadesNewBlack

 

Firstly, and foremost, I think this polish is going to compliment almost all skin tones. It’s a great balance between blue and yellow and isn’t too bright. I think the muted attitude of this polish keeps it chic while the jade colour keeps things interesting and brings in the mysteries of the orient. This polish looks luxurious to me and gives me a smile when I am wearing it – like when you wear the jewelry you keep for special occasions but the best thing about this – it can be worn all the time and will work in all seasons.

JadeNewBlack4 JadeNewBlack3 JadeNewBlack2

The formula is slightly thinner than some OPI cremes I own but that is probably because this isn’t a heavy creme colour – it is an opaque jelly (which I know makes no sense) but it’s opaqueness comes from being highly pigmented rather than filled with a white opaque at its base. I use two coats for full coverage and it has a lovely glassy finish. It does dry darker than the bottle colour by about 2 shades. It almost didn’t need topcoat but for the sake of it surviving on my battered hands I did add my favourite Color Club Top Coat. Removal was a breeze and I had absolutely no straining from clean up or removal (I used OPI Natural Base Coat to protect my nails). I would love to try this polish out with one of the gold top coats OPI has released – really capture the idea of precious stones…  I think this would also look nice with some stamping on but I wore it plain because I liked the colour THAT much.

What do you think of this colour? When you think of OPI what are the cult shades that spring to mind?

 

 

8 comments on “OPI: Jade Is The New Black

  1. Cazzy Durcan
    February 1, 2014

    My absolute favourite green! It looks great on you.

    The other day I got some jade and gold nail gems that I’m really itching to try now you’ve mentioned precious stones…

  2. Lisa N.
    February 2, 2014

    I have this color and really like it 🙂

  3. Hxx
    February 18, 2014

    Totally gorgeous colour! I don’t have OPI Jade is the new black, but I am awaiting a delivery from fragrance direct that contains Revlon Emerald, which is apparently a dupe for the OPI! I can’t wait to try it!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      February 18, 2014

      oooooo! I didn’t know that! Hope you like it – let me know how you get on! 😀 Good old FD!

  4. Pingback: Rainbow Series with Imagination In Colour: You’ll Be Green with Envy | Pocket Money Polishes

  5. Pingback: St Patty’s Day Mani | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2014 by in Mainstream, Swatch.

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
