Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Rainbow Series with Imagination In Colour: You’ll Be Green with Envy

Just to explain what is going on: once a week Emma (from Imagination In Colour) and I will be doing twin posts inspired by our series theme which to start with is the rainbow – we’re working out way through and today is GREEN. Don’t forget to check out Emma’s post HERE.

Mermaids2

I do have quite a few greens in my collection and from quite a few different brands so this week I was really torn as to what to share with you. I decided that I really wanted to use a new polish and also a lemming polish that I finally got my hands on BUT I will add a few links to my other favourite greens at the end of the post so you can check them out.

This beauty is OPI Mermaid’s Tears which was a super popular polish from the Pirates of the Caribbean collection – it is also probably the most expensive one to track down (although from my experience ‘Sparrow Me The Drama’ comes up for sale less often). That said, there are dupes out there.

It is a dusty jade colour – more blue toned and darker than Stranger Tides. It has a similar formula to Jade is the New Black – it’s a crelly that builds up. I could probably have done with a third coat as there are small bald patches showing on these pictures, they are much less apparent in real life and I do use very thin coats. Thicker coats would probably not have this problem. Dry time was amazing and the finish was glassy.

Mermaid

For an accent I used China Glaze Mistletoe Kisses which is a very similar shade of green and a super dense glitter – completely opaque in two coats. I actually loved the nails just as they were at this stage but I felt the need to faff. So I whipped out my OPI Blue Shatter, which was a gift from a lovely friend across the pond, and added a thin coat. The crackled did come out a little better on my non swatch hand but I hope this gives you an idea.

The sparkle coming out from under the crackle is gorgeous – it looks like some sort of alien precious stone to me.

Mermaids3

Everything is top-coated as usual with my good old Color Club topcoat. I’ve actually worn this mani for a few days and it is still perfect, which is kind of annoying because if I had a chip then I could justify taking it off but for now it’s too pretty so it will have to stay. Ho hum 😉

Other greens to check out:

I hope that’s enough to keep you going! ❤ Hope you’re all having a great week and enjoying this series – please do comment below!

5 comments on “Rainbow Series with Imagination In Colour: You’ll Be Green with Envy

  1. Lisa N.
    March 6, 2014

    Pretty!

  2. Pingback: Rainbow Series with Imagination In Colour: I’m minted | Pocket Money Polishes

  3. Pingback: Rainbow Series with Imagination In Colour: Blue-ming lovely! | Pocket Money Polishes

  4. Pingback: Rainbow Series with Imagination In Colour: Indiglow | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on March 6, 2014 by in Mainstream, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
