Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Warm Neutrals Gradient

Gradient1 I had some time to do some nail art and it’s been such a long time I thought I would start with a gradient. I decided I wanted to use some unusual colours – just to see how they would turn out. I started with two coats of OPI Did You Ear About Van Gogh which is a lovely putty coloured creme from the Holland collection. Application was very easy for such a light colour – no problems to report AT ALL. I left time for this to dry (about 10 minutes… yeh, I know, that’s a long time for me) and then I set to work adding my gradient.

Gradient7I added stripes of my gradient colours onto some scrap paper and picked them up with a small chunk of makeup sponge and then I dabbed two coats onto my nail doing my best to blend the colours by slightly adjusting where I was dabbing. I used (all OPI) Did You Eat About Van Gogh, Expresso Your Style and Schnapps Out of It – the last two are untrieds for me and I think they’re beautiful. Expresso… is a dark brown shimmer with a touch of purple to it – which really came out in this gradient, I am not sure what collection this is from, I bought mine from a  nail sale. Schnapps… is a terracotta kind of colour with a hidden shimmer from the Germany collection.

Gradient3

Both Van Gogh and Schnapps can still be found on a lot of etailers and are great additions to a stash. Schnapps is similar to Kreme De La Kremlin (Russian Collection) and Gouda Gouda Two Shoes (Holland Collection) but I would say is darker and slightly less pink toned. I will do a comparison if anyone is interested. I used a topcoat to blend together and even out the finish HOWEVER my bloomin’ topcoat decided to bubble which kind of ruined the effect. I still was pleased with how this earthy toned gradient turned out. Clean up was pretty straight forward with a cotton bud and some remover – using a small piece of sponge really helps control where the polish is going so makes this process less messy than it potentially could be.

gradient5

In order to cover up the bubbling I added some glitter – this is one of my glitter combos called ROAR and inspired by the Katy Perry song it’s got orange holo, copper bars, gold holo, black squares and golden dots. This ended up making me think of the layers in rock and little flecks of other stones – do you know what I mean? Anyway, I was really pleased with the combination. 

What do you think? What are your favourite colours to combine for a gradient? Do you have any favourite nail art techniques? Let me know with a comment below.

gradient6

14 comments on “Warm Neutrals Gradient

  1. Polished PR
    March 8, 2014

    Pretty choice of colors, reminds me of the pretty rocks that you can purchase at a museum 🙂

  2. Lisa N.
    March 8, 2014

    What a pretty neutral gradient! Like the glitter too.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      March 8, 2014

      Thank you! 😀 I am still working on mastering the gradient but really pleased with how this one turned out.

  3. V
    March 8, 2014

    How pretty! It actually reminds me of these pottery bowls I saw in a little boutique

  4. Anne
    March 8, 2014

    Very pretty!

  5. Mina
    March 11, 2014

    At first, with just the gradient on, it reminded me of a cup of foamy coffee, but then the glitter came and changed it into a fine piece of jewelry – pretty, pretty!! 😀

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      March 11, 2014

      Thank you Mina! I’ve been loving your bright nail art lately – chasing the gloom away 😀

  6. BaroquenNails
    March 15, 2014

    Oo very nice color combination, It actually reminded me of old pottery as well, it was interesting to see a fellow commenter thought the same thing :p

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on March 8, 2014 by in Mainstream, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
