Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

OPI: Warm Me Up and L.A.M.B. (plus artwork bonus)

LAMB2After my gradient the brown and neutral tone mood continued but I decided to go for cooler shades. Here I’ve paired OPI Warm Me Up from the Holiday Mariah Carey Collection and OPI Love.Angel.Music.Baby (L.A.M.B. for short).

Warm Me Up is a lovely dark expresso colour with a very pretty subtle shimmer. It applied opaque in two coats, you could maybe get away with it being a one coater if you do thick coats. Formula was really nice to work with and it dries to a normal shiney finish. A unique brown in my collection, really liking it. I think this will make a smart alternative to black and I would say it is work appropriate.

 

LAMB1

I tried out a new topcoat today China Glaze Patent Leather and to be honest I don’t love it – the finish isn’t great, it’s not very quick drying and it smells pretty strong so will be going back to my regular next mani me thinks.

L.A.M.B. is a lovely pale gold made of pure shimmer – a mix of champagne gold and silver, another good two coater this polish really is beautiful. The twist is this has a matte/satin finish, not going to lie to me this made it look a little flat on the nail. I think if I had matte down Warm Me Up it would have looked cool but I am all out of matte topcoat at the moment. The topcoat just added a little more glitter and fizz but is not a super transformation. I wasn’t really wow’d by much of the Gwen Stefani collection as much as I like their graphic lids but I do like this polish and might go back for 4 in the Morning.

What do you think of this combo? Did you go for either of these polishes?

LAMB5

LAMB4

LAMB3

There have been so many collections announced for OPI now it is hard to keep track but I have made a small list with release dates (as I know them) and links to pictures or press releases:

Gwen Stefani – Jan (8 polishes)
Brazil – Feb (12 polishes)
Muppets Most Wanted – March (8 Polishes)
Spotlight On Glitter – March (6 Polishes)
Sheer Tints – March (4 polishes)
Coke Cola – June
Mustang – July
MLB Baseball (Fashion Plate) – March (7 Polishes)
Neons by OPI – June (7 Polishes)

Most of these are have only been briefly mentioned in press releases and barely any of them get a mention on UK etailer sites so really worth watching the blosophere and having a good hunt through google for information. I think the releases from the mainstream brands this year have been underwhelming for a lot of addicts but on the other hand this is a great time to get collecting as there are lots of options to choose from, polishes are getting cheaper and there are newer versions appearing of harder to find polishes. I think the Neons collection is going to be the big one this summer, fingers crossed for good formulas. I am probably going to pass on The Muppets but I am definitely looking forward to finding out more about the other collabs!

Right, one last thing to share with you! This weekend I spent a lot of time working on a painting that the lovely Annette from Rainbow Connection commissioned – she wanted a bright, modern and fun painting of her lovely dog Beau and this is how it turned out:

IMG_3859Hope you’ve all had a good weekend and that Monday was kind to you too! ❤ Please feel free to leave thoughts and comments below, I do my best to read and reply to every single one 😀

 

12 comments on “OPI: Warm Me Up and L.A.M.B. (plus artwork bonus)

  1. Catriona Drysdale
    March 10, 2014

    I love the look of L.A.MB but im not mad on the brown colour unfortunately. I am new to the OPI stashing lol – but im hoping to get a few next payday, I know this one wont be on it.

    On the better note, your an amazing artist and I do love your nails!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      March 10, 2014

      hehe thank you!

      Yeh, I know brown is not everyones cup of tea (or coffee) so to speak but I LOVE it.
      Look forward to seeing pictures of your haul 😀

  2. Nageldraken
    March 10, 2014

    Hi! So happy to see that you linked to my blog! 🙂 I am really glad to see that someone outside of Sweden has found it!
    I like your mani, I think it is a nice combination of colours! Brown and gold is a classic! 🙂

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      March 11, 2014

      hehe yep – we found you when we were on the hunt for swatches and reviews 😀

      Thanks for stopping by to see what I am up to – glad you liked my mani 😀

      • Nageldraken
        March 14, 2014

        Yes, I was lucky enough to get the collections for review quite early! I have tried some of the polishes now as well, so I have some proper swatches. But they are so many it will take a while before I’ve worn them all… 😛
        I just got the Sheer Tints collection for review, so now there’s swatch stick pictures of it on my blog if you’re interested. 🙂

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        March 14, 2014

        ooo 😀 I am hoping the UK dealers get the new collections in soon although they haven’t said anything about them yet 😦 Have you got the Fashion Plate collection??

      • Nageldraken
        March 14, 2014

        Here in Sweden the Sheer Tints will be released just before Easter, so you might have to wait a while, I’m afraid… I have actually not heard of the Fashion Plate collection before, so no. 😦 But I have been invited to a very mysterious OPI launch at the end of April, I might get some news then! 🙂

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        March 15, 2014

        oooo exciting and congratz!

  3. Anne
    March 10, 2014

    Beautiful colors!

  4. Lisa N.
    March 10, 2014

    Pretty! I love the accent nail you paired with it.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on March 10, 2014 by in Mainstream, Swatch and tagged , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
