Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

OPI Keeping Suzi At Bay and Julie G Blueberry Fizz

JulieG1Today I finally got around to properly setting up the lightbox that I got at Christmas – it’s rather large and I don’t have a lot of room so I have been using that as an excuse for not setting it up before. It does however fold down and comes with two lights (one of which I was using with my home-made lightbox for ages). Anyway, look at the difference! I am really impressed, I didn’t do anything different with my camera set up – just used two lights and the magical pop up box. For anyone interested I am now using THIS lightbox from amazon.  The only downside is there really now is no hiding nail flaws – I have just ordered the wonder oil that is Bliss Kiss in the hope of getting my nails in tip top condition for you all!

Hopefully I can get around to giving the blog a bit of a spring make over too so watch this space for more upcoming changes and improvements  -huzzah. What would you like to see on the blog this year? More nail art? More swatches? Lots of both?

On to today’s polish… picture spam first I think and then I’ll tell you about them!

JulieG5

JulieG3

JulieG2

JulieG6I was a feeling a little uninspired when my mani chipped today so I decided to have a fish around in my drawers to see what treasures were lurking in the back corner. Waaaay back last year when textures were just beginning to take off Julie G released a collection called Frosted Gumdrops Work/Play/Polish one of the top nail bloggers (and one of my personal favourites) did the promo adverts and I just loved these polishes. The only bummer was they were only available in the US. Luckily one of the lovely ladies I have met in the blogosphere picked a few up for me. I think they retailed for around $4 each, so a complete bargain. If you’re in the US this is definitely a brand worth checking out. Coming back to use these, after months of them being in the back of my stash, the formula is still PERFECT and there has been no evaporation or anything to report. The colour I am wearing today is called Blueberry Fizz and I applied in two thin coats – there is a mix of smaller and larger glittery particles in this textured polish which make it really twinkle and I think the soft blue is perfect for spring. I paired it with a mani of OPI Keeping Suzi At Bay, the lighter blue creme, from the Fall San Francisco collection. I loved this collection but only picked up this blue recently. The first time I applied it… I wasn’t super keen on the formula but this time it applied evenly and two thin coats gave perfect opacity so not sure what I did wrong last time. This blue is similar but different to Barrym Blue Grape, Nails Inc Baker Street, OPI Eurso Euro all of which I do have… I know… issues. I am happy to do a comparison though if anyone needs help deciding between these shades or is just interested in general.

Hope the week is treating you well! How are we a third of the way through March already? MADNESS!

12 comments on “OPI Keeping Suzi At Bay and Julie G Blueberry Fizz

  1. Emma
    March 11, 2014

    Ironically I havebeen using that very same light box for a year and hate it. I hate it with a passion. It’s a total pain in the arse and I resent setting it up. Tonight I sat down and chopped up an amazon box to make my own so I wouldn’t have to set it up anymore! I just started using Bliss nail oil yesterday, it’s amazing! Already given up on the naked 3 day thing though, I got to 36 hrs and couldn’t stand the horror of my naked nails…..

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      March 11, 2014

      Hehe what don’t you like about it? My infinity background is creased to buggery but it actually doesn’t show in the picture. I found it easy to set up once I figured out where I had room to put it.

      Yeh, not sure how I am going to manage three days without painting my nails. Maybe I’ll need to get some guest bloggers in as my archives of gap filling manis seem a little bit empty :-/

      • Emma B
        March 12, 2014

        I just hate the whole act of having the clear the kitchen sides to put it up, then put it up, then try not to bugger up my nails afterwards folding it down. It is because it is huuuuugee!

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        March 12, 2014

        I just do it on the spare bed – wasn’t too much of a bother but we’ll see how it goes.

  2. Emma
    March 11, 2014

    By the way, fab colours you used here!

  3. Lisa N.
    March 11, 2014

    Pretty! I like doing a texture accent too.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      March 11, 2014

      😀 thank you! Textures with a creme accent just don’t have the same impact. Gotta love a touch of sparkle.

  4. Catriona Drysdale
    March 11, 2014

    Oh I want a light box, right now I dont have one.. eek.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      March 11, 2014

      They’re quite easy to make home made ones (lots of youtube videos out there) which work ok if you can’t afford a real one. The lights make a big difference though – but you can invest in bulbs to go in regular lamps 🙂

  5. Anne
    March 12, 2014

    You are in for a treat with that Bliss kiss. I’ve been using it for almost a year now and it’s made a HUUUUGE difference!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      March 12, 2014

      It has really exploded on the scene here in the UK recently, so I gotta find out what all the fuss is about. I did look at the recipe for making it but don’t think I would use enough to justify buying the ingrediants myself (as some of the oils do go a bit funny after a few months). I will definitely be reporting back.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on March 11, 2014 by in Indie, Mainstream, Swatch and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
