Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Rainbow Series with Imagination In Colour: Blue-ming lovely!

So this post has been a small disaster which is pretty much my fault for leaving it till the last minute despite planning to do this with Emma at the beginning of the week. Just to explain what is going on: once a week Emma (from Imagination In Colour) and I will be doing twin posts inspired by our series theme which to start with is the rainbow. Check out what I’ve done so far here: Red, Orange, Coral, Yellow, Green, Mint. Before I get on to this weeks mani, I just want to do a quick shout out about my blogiversary giveaways (with both UK and US prizes)!

blue Deciding what to wear for this weeks mani took a little help from my friends. I feel like I’ve worn blue a lot recently and felt a bit stumped as to what I could possibly do and with which blues.

Straw poll of the beloved facebook group turned up two champion blues: Nails Inc Baker Street and Barrym Blue Grape. There were a couple of runners up BUT they trailed behind these two, so off to my drawers I went. There are frequently questions about whether or not these two are dupes – there are not as you can see (Blue Grape on my ring and Baker Street on my pinky).

Blue3

Sorry for the slightly blurry pictures but I think there was just too much here for my camera to cope with. I decided to pair these two beautiful blues with Glittering Elements Doppelganger and Ciate Frost Yourself caviar beads. I can verify that these beads do run colour with topcoat so I would suggest applying into a thick coat of polish to stick these beads into so that they are more likely to stay put. These beads are silver, pale purple and brilliant blue – I got mine as part of the Mini Mani Month (currently for sale on Fragrance Direct for just £16.99) and I barely used any on this mani. I love the luxxe look of these beads – I know caviar beads get a lot of hate for being impractical but I like them so there! 😀

blue2

Glittering Elements Doppleganger is a beautiful soft grey that is opaque and glossy in two easy coats with a medium holo in it – this is gorgeous and subtle enough that I think you would probably wear it around the office. I will be doing a full swatch of this soon but in the mean time feel free to check out its sister polish Turn It Off.

Back to the blues: Baker Street is a bright blue creme with a slightly thick formula and applies opaquely in 1-2 coats. It is slightly lighter and very slightly dustier (to my eye) than Blue Grape. The Barrym is more of a crelly formula which allows for a real glow to the brilliance of the blue – this is less opaque than Baker Street but in no way sheer. Both of these formulas are slightly stronger smelling as is normal with cobalt based polishes but nothing unbearable by any stretch of the imagination.

Blue5

Blue4So there we go 😀 Big, bold, blue and beautiful. Don’t forget to check out Emma’s post which is coming up a little bit later this evening! Next week will be blurple – wish me luck with getting my camera to cooperate! What’s your favourite blue? Do you like caviar beads? As ever comment below with all your thoughts!

10 comments on “Rainbow Series with Imagination In Colour: Blue-ming lovely!

  1. plasticbows
    March 20, 2014

    Woah! I love that blue shade! It’s so vibrant

  2. Lisa N.
    March 20, 2014

    Pretty blue mani!

  3. Pingback: Blue-ming Lovely – Rainbow Series | Imagination In Colour

  4. Laurie Lovett-Parsons
    March 20, 2014

    Beautiful blue color. I have nail caviar but have never used it. I guess I should give it a try.. Yesterday I placed an ordered with Glittering Elements. I had trouble deciding between Doppelganger and Turn It Off. Finally decided on Turn It Off-I hope I made the right choice. Of course, I bought some others, too. Asking around I had trouble finding anyone who had tried Glittering Elements. I even asked a blogger I know from FB in Australia. She had heard of it and said she belonged to an Aussie NP bloggers group. She would try to get me more info. She got back to me that one blogger had done a review (gave me the link) and one blogger owned one bottle and said it was of high-quality. She said she thought GE was probably more popular in the US than Australia? I don’t know. I still am intrigued by this brand. Thanks for blogging about it.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      March 20, 2014

      I only heard of them through a friend who was ordering and was sold when I heard about the TVD set. Honestly the application is lovely and they’re well pigmented and sparkly. I think they might be a relatively new brand so maybe that’s why they’ve not got a lot of reviews (YET). I’m going to try and get both of the others swatched up next week, will try and remember to tag you in the post on facebook! You definitely won’t regret buying though 😀

  5. Catherine Dream
    March 21, 2014

    Oh oh oh, a TVD polish? Love the grey.

  6. Pingback: Rainbow Series with Imagination In Colour: Indiglow | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on March 20, 2014 by in Indie, Mainstream, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
