Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

OPI: Pink Comparison and Flocking

OPI Pink Comparison Kiss Me I'm Brazilian I think I messed up – I thought that the polish I had used for my mani was Elephantastic Pink but looking at my comparison picture… I think I used Kiss Me I’m Brazilian… OH WELL. I did a quick comparison of my brighter bubblegum region pinks and as you can see the two OPI are completely different but OPI Elephantastic Pink and Ciate Kiss Chase are nigh on dupes. The formula on these is also pretty similar being thin and needing 2-3 coats for opacity. OPI Kiss Me I’m Brazilian (from this years spring Brazil collection) is a thicker formula and needed just two coats although I recommend not fussing this formula too much as it is thicker and easily overworked. The dry time on all of these is good and the finish shiney.

Pink3So anyway, I recently decided that I was going to invest in a whole heap of nail art bits and pieces to spice things up. One trend I have always wanted to try is the “velvet” or “flocked” manicure – this was something that got mixed reviews in popularity as many people didn’t like the texture or the idea of fluffy nails. I have to say I actually quite liked the fluff BUT the stuff gets everywhere and if you have a mask I would recommend using it so you don’t inhale the small fibres. I decided rather than starting with full nails that I would do a striped design so I painted my base colour, waited for it to dry, added my striping tape, added another coat of colour and then tipped some of the flocking onto my nails. I quickly brushed off as much excess as I could and then removed the tape (it’s best to remove tape as quickly as possible for even lines).

Pink4The flocking powder I have came as part of a set of twelve different colours from ebay (there are lots of people selling the power, including bornprettystore so I recommend shopping around for the best deal for you) and seems to have a slight sparkle to it. I used barely any for this design and tipped the excess back into the pot for next time. I didn’t experience any real shedding and when I washed my hands I simply patted down the flock with some tissue to remove the dampness and bring back the fluffy. I didn’t wear this whilst showering/bathing or for more than 24 hours so I can’t report on longevity but I should imagine it will last a couple of days if you’re not too hard on it. I really want to attempt rainbow stripes next time using different powder! To the rest of my nails I added one coat of Iconic Effect Subtle Holo Top Coat which is just the right amount of rainbow sparkle for me personally. Sadly this topcoat is no longer available but there are lots of holo topcoats out in the market place or even holo glitter that will create a similar effect.

Pink1Pink5So what do you think? Did you try out this trend at all? Any tips or ideas for fun designs? What is your favourite OPI pink? I am still on the hunt for my perfect pink at the moment although I do like the ones in this post!  I know, I am a fussy bugger.

I want to say a big thank you to all my followers new and old who entered my giveaway! The winners have been notified and hopefully they’ll enjoy their prizes. I am kind of sad it is over but think I will be doing more giveaways in the future – what sort of prizes do you like? What sort of giveaways do you like entering – competitions? raffles? quizzes?

I am asking a lot of questions today, I think because the blog is a year old now I am just looking for feed back from you so I can make sure that I have content you’ll enjoy! What are your favourite style of posts from me? Reviews? Comparisons? Nail Art? Please let me know with comments below! Hope you’re all having a great week!

 

 

 

 

7 comments on “OPI: Pink Comparison and Flocking

  1. Lisa N.
    March 26, 2014

    Love the accent nail! Great pink comparison too.

  2. Tina
    March 26, 2014

    What a great way to use flocking powder! I see a pink, yellow, white striped flocking mani in my future 🙂

  3. Anne
    March 26, 2014

    I do like the flocked accent nail!

  4. Pingback: Rainbow Series With Imagination In Colour: We also wear pink on fridays | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on March 26, 2014 by in Indie, Mainstream, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
