Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Moyra: Vivid Sands

I lost a day somewhere this week and had a stonking headache so haven’t achieved much at all today BUT when my lovely Mummy delivered nail mail I did perk up just enough to do some quick swatches (these were paid for in full by me).

neonsands4

These days I don’t often gamble on new brands without reading reviews and checking out swatches first but I was reaching the end of my polish budge for the month and desperately craved some neon polishes, when I saw a post from Moyra UK advertising NEON coloured textured polishes for just £3 each… I thought it was worth the risk. There are two different versions of these polishes in the Vivid Sand range – one which is more matte and one with silver glittery particles in. I went for the glittery ones as I thought they were extra unique.

neonsands3

 

Needless to say the colours were even more neon and vivid in real life – but I did my best with colour accuracy. So onto the review portion of this blog entry… I did these swatches incredibly quickly for one of the facebook groups I am in but I was actually quite happy with how the pictures came out so decided to use them on the blog.

Party Pink – I am not normally drawn to darker pinks but this is lovely and not too cool toned for my skin. I needed just one coat for opacity with this polish! It dries down fairly quickly to a finish very similar to the OPI Liquid Sands – it is not unpleasant to the touch and an even texture but definitely not glossy (I don’t think it would take too many coats of topcoat to smooth though).

Neonsands2Summer Green – I really like this green, it’s another shade that surprised me as it is not in my normal palette. This was the sheerest of the polishes but still only needed two coats for luminous opacity. This really reminds me of sugar coated fizzy sweets or sherbert. This one presents the highest staining risk in my opinion – so just make sure you use your base coat.

In Bloom – This orange was pretty opaque I did use two coats but probably could have gotten away with one. I love that these neons are bright and do not need white undies! The formula is really easy to work with on all of these – not too thick or too thin and spreads really evenly thanks to the lovely medium width flat brush.

NeonsandsSunflower – this is fluorescent highlighter yellow with just a touch of green. Definitely benefited from the second coat but the formula was no different from the others which I think is amazing for neons and especially a tricky colour like yellow.

I don’t know much about the brand to be honest as they have only just popped up on my radar here in the UK but I am fairly sure they’re available worldwide. I am not sure if these polishes are 3-free but I cannot report any particular stink. I have to say some of the best textured polishes I have, have been less than £5 – P2 Sands, Moyra Vivid Sands and Julie G Frosted Gumdrops and I think they’re a fun addition to a polish collection without having to spend a lot of money and the quality of these is fantastic.

What do you think? Are you feeling the summer brights? What was the last brand you took a gamble on? Let me know with a comment below.

Update (more info from Moyra UK): The reason we are selling them for this low price is because our main line is professional nail products and we came up with a commercial range matching the colours and textures we have in our main product range. We pride ourselves in the fact that all of our products are made in Germany and Italy and no ingredient of any kind is from the far east. 

16 comments on “Moyra: Vivid Sands

  1. Lisa N.
    April 10, 2014

    What fun shades!

  2. Tracey
    April 10, 2014

    These are so bright and awesome! They look lovely on your nails. I’d like to try the suede effect and holo from this range, but on a no buy atm, so Im keeping my fingers crossed that I can buy some soon xx

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 10, 2014

      I am on a no buy now – it’s hard but then I remember how many pretty polishes I already have. You definitely try these out, I think they’d look great on you!!

  3. Julie
    April 10, 2014

    Gorgeous bright neons! Love that green one.

  4. Mina
    April 11, 2014

    Summer Green and In Bloom …
    *swooon* 🙂
    These are lovely and I’ve tried my luck lately with a drugstore brand and didn’t come out disappointed whatsoever – actually it’s starting to become a favourite: great quality and really low prices 😀

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 11, 2014

      Yaaaayyy!!! I thought of you when I was swatching these – you’re the neon queen.

  5. Emily Nailsxo
    April 11, 2014

    Oh they are awesome! I may have to get some of these for the Summer holidays! They look really pretty! The last polish brand I took a gamble on was ‘Jess’ nail polish from Poundland that I swatched in my most recent post. It weren’t a massive gamble as they were only £1 each haha and the gamble paid off as they were awesome! 😀 xx

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 11, 2014

      YAY I really need to do a poundland haul at some point, sadly my nearest one is a little bit of a trek!

      • Emily Nailsxo
        April 11, 2014

        Well when you next get to go there it means you have an excuse to stock up on them all 😉 😀 xx

  6. penny pinching polish
    April 11, 2014

    I’m dying of jealousy here, haven’t got my Moyra stuff yet 🙂 These look amazing though, I need them so bad! xx

  7. firegirl
    April 15, 2014

    I love these! I have been looking for bright sand polishes and thought the OPI minis were a little small and expensive. Looks like Moyra might be a winner for me…

  8. Pingback: April Cherry Blossoms Featuring Moyra and MoYou | Pocket Money Polishes

  9. Pingback: E is for… (Part Two) | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2014 by in Mainstream, Swatch.

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
