Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Water Marbling and other lessons

Watermarble3

Believe it or not this blogpost marks a personal blogging triumph for me. Since before I started blogging the water marble has been a mani both admired and feared; it requires poise, patience and clean up. Before I get into my water marble I thought I would share a few things I have learnt since starting my journey as a nail blogger:

1) A girl can never have too many polishes or too many friends. Big thank you to both my family and friends old and new for their support which is so important in keeping me and this blog going. 2) Don’t be afraid to ask for help. I have asked countless times for help whether it be with techniques, improving the blog or in shout outs for guest posts. Claire from NuthinButANailThing was my very first blogging guru and gave me many countless tips about how to improve my photographs and blog back in the very early days (also known as the dark ages with bedroom door backdrop). 3) Challenge yourself but don’t punish yourself. Sometimes these nail art schemes go tits up and manis don’t work out how they were supposed to. As horrendous as it sounds practise really does help (for me this definitely applies to both clean up and application).

WatermarbleThere is a lot more I have learnt but I want to get onto talking about my water marbling escapades which I am very excited about and came about in the very early hours of the morning when I realised I had absolutely no content for a Monday blogpost – JEEPERS!

This mani is miles from perfect (I didn’t have my new favourite clean up brush to hand for starters) but it IS my first successful attempt so here are the polishes I used: China Glaze Electric Pineapple (I love the lime yellow colour but this is a beast to apply), Nails Inc Hyde Park Square (nearly neon pink which is streaky even at three coats), Nails Inc Baker Street (which has good formula but I haven’t used very often and was a nice contrast to the brighter colours), Leighton Denny Pure White (pretty bog standard white used in two thick coats as a base).

watermarble2Previously, I haven’t bothered with this technique because I felt it used too much polish, made too much mess and was a bit of a P.I.T.A. Well… to counteract the fact it does use a lot of polish I decided to use polishes that I don’t use often or have a sucky formula so at least they had some use. As for the mess I used the vaseline (or in my case lipbalm) method to protect my skin and this worked really well – the polish just wiped away (will be using this for gradient and other messy manis in the future). As for my third complaint this isn’t the easiest mani I have ever done but nor is it the hardest, it is the most unpredictable though! I used the lid to my cotton bud container for my water and filled with approximately an inch and a half of tap water (no expenses spared here), had my polishes pre-opened, and used a very old brush to make my patterns as I couldn’t find an orange stick with cotton buds and cotton balls on standby for operation clean up. Each nail is exactly as it turned out with no re-dos.

Watermarble4

No I didn’t wear this mani for very long but I am proud of it and I would like to give a shout out to Tracey from BiteNoMore who has really gone out of her way with great water marbling advice and is forever filling my feed with beautiful manis. Are there any nail gurus you would like to thank? Have you tried water marbling? Are there any mani techniques that intimidate you? Let me know with a comment below!

8 comments on “Water Marbling and other lessons

  1. Tracey
    April 14, 2014

    Just wicked! Amazing job. Thanks for the shout out, at this rate my book wont be needed lol. :)xx

  2. Laurie Lovett-Parsons
    April 14, 2014

    Great job, Charlie! I haven’t had the courage to try it myself for the exact reasons you state. It is on my to-do list though. I love your choice of colors. Great inspiration! I am currently learning how to stamp. After that, maybe I will take on water marbling. Thanks for great post!

  3. Lisa N.
    April 14, 2014

    Nice water marble!

  4. bettysbeautybombs
    April 14, 2014

    What a wonderful post!! I love all your lessons learned. I’ve only tried marbling twice (both were pretty ugly) but I might just convince myself it’s time to try again!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 14, 2014

      Hehe yeh, I have been talking myself into it for a couple of weeks. It was much less stressful this time around, maybe because I felt I had nothing to lose by trying. Thanks for reading and commenting lovely!

  5. Pingback: E is for… (Part Two) | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2014 by in Nail Art, Tools, Tutorials and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
