Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

A is for: A Taupe The Space Needle

DistressedMani3

New series this week! Emma from Imagination in Colour, Anna from AnnaBean and Sarah from Penny Pinching Polish and lil ole me will be posting once a week following the alphabet with a polish of that initial. With more of use involved with this series we won’t be able to sync post as easily but this just means more posts for you to check out throughout the day.This week we start at the very beginning, because it’s a very good place to start… A.

Presenting: OPI A Taupe The Space Needle.

I have had this polish for a long time and just haven’t gotten around to using it – I don’t know why because I really love this colour. One of the more brown leaning taupes released by OPI – I would say this was a coffee colour with the slightest hint of khaki – this would be perfect for a camouflage mani or just simply as an office friendly alternative to black. I used two coats here.

DistressedManiI decided to combine this polish with Essie Penny Talk which is a lovely rose gold foil that I was gifted by a polishy friend. This polish is gorgeous just like a new shiney penny but I would advise against topcoating it as it ruins the brushed foil finish (in my opinion). I decided to try out the distressed mani technique which I first saw on Chalkboard Nails. For this technique you wipe off nearly all of the polish from your brush before you lightly swipe over your nails.

DistressedMani4 I think this gives a kind of distressed antique look – where the gold leaf has flaked off and I like the way the creme contrasted with metallic in the way it reflects light. This technique only requires a minimum of two contrasting colours and can easily be done even with a wobbly non dominant hand so I LOVE it. It feels edgy without being messy or too un-pretty (in my opinion).

I will definitely be doing this again AND using OPI A Taupe The Space Needle again – the application was really smooth and creamy, it could be a one coater if you apply thicker coats. I recently picked up another bottle of this along with two other OPIs for just £5 in the sale section of TK Maxx so there deals are out there and it’s amazing how beautiful these unusual colours can be once they’re on the nails. Embrace brown people! 😀

Have you ever tried this technique? I am slowly working on trying out a few different nail art techniques that I’ve not gotten round to. What are your favourite techniques?

DistressedMani2

 

15 comments on “A is for: A Taupe The Space Needle

  1. Lisa N.
    April 17, 2014

    Nice neutral shade for everyday!

  2. bettysbeautybombs
    April 17, 2014

    This is a really fun idea for a series!

  3. fritha
    April 17, 2014

    what a great shade! love it! x
    http://www.tigerlillyquinn.com

  4. Vicky Standage
    April 17, 2014

    What a cool idea for a series! 🙂
    I have this polish but I’ve only ever used it for nail art, I’m not much of a brown polish person. I think it looks really lovely on you though and I love the idea of using a foil polish for a distressed mani.. it looks great 🙂

  5. Ola Dania
    April 17, 2014

    I haven’t tried this technique but it looks gorgeous so why not. I would replace the gold with white my preference but yours look lovely.

  6. Emma B
    April 17, 2014

    I love this technique, defo looks like a new penny! Looking forwards to the remaining 25 b-z. I haven’t been closely following ChalkboardNails recently, should go and take a closer look.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 17, 2014

      I always go to her blog when I am in need of inspiration – it’s lovely sitting with a cup of tea and having a browse.

  7. I love this, will definitely have to try it sometime 🙂

  8. blimbo2005
    April 18, 2014

    love that you are doing this. I wanted to run a giveaway for my birthday doing the nail polish from a-z whomever had the most entries would win.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on April 17, 2014 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
