Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

The Shadowy Ballerina (how I got my mojo back)

I seriously lost mine this weekend, I did my nails about six times and NOTHING was working out. I think I was just trying too hard to do something I thought other people would like (so I could blog it) and not just doing what I wanted. So after a break I went to my drawer and gabbed OPI Nein Nein Nein, Ok Fine a lovely grey with slight teal/green in the base – a perfect palette cleanser and softer alternative to black. I used two coats for full opacity, you might be able to get away with one if you do thick coats. Once that was applied I had a spark of inspiration to add some glistening “faffage” to my mani in the form of the beautiful A England Fonteyn. Fonteyn is from the latest collection inspired by legendary prima ballerina Margot Fonteyn and I bought it pretty soon after release paying full price because it is so beautiful. Normally I am a bargain hunter but I cannot quibble with the service or the product from A England especially if you’re in the market for a very special treat. .

FonteynWebs

I have recently sorted through my stamping plates – sending some to a loving new home and ordering a few more from MoYou London (can’t wait for nail mail next week, so exciting!). I grabbed one of my Bundle Monster plates (208) and noticed a great mosaic/cracked design (the inverse of this design is also on the plate which is quite cool) and got to work adding it across all my fingers – no accents today. The A England stamped perfectly and the design reminds me of spiders webs as they glisten in the light or maybe like an inverse shattered mirror? What do you think?

FonteynWebs3

Fonteynwebs2

In sad news my good clean up brush continues to be MIA so I ended up having to very carefully use cotton buds for clean up last night which are not ideal but just about worked. Don’t forget you can click on any of the images on the blog to see larger versions in all their macro glory. Everything is topped in HK Girl Topcoat which if you’re in the UK you can buy from Rainbow Connection and I could not recommend more at this point.

So what do you think? What do you do when you lose your mojo? Are you a mani planner or do you just go with whatever takes your fancy? I think from now on I am just going to do what I fancy and try not to over think things! Bumper week for you this week with amazing guest posts, the next instalment of the AtoZ series and muchos more. I hope you all had a great Easter and didn’t eat too much chocolate.

 

15 comments on “The Shadowy Ballerina (how I got my mojo back)

  1. Lisa N.
    April 21, 2014

    This looks great! Nice work on the stamping here.

  2. Virginie
    April 21, 2014

    Great stamping! It reminds me an inversed shattered mirror, and it looks fabulous. These two nail polishes are so beautiful! I often loose my mojo…and I never know what to do about it, except wait for it to come back …

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 21, 2014

      😀 Thanks lovely! Sometimes all you can do is do nothing, mojo reappears eventually. I haven’t stamped for ages but definitely going to be doing it more now – I forgot how quick and effective it can be.

  3. Kittykam
    April 22, 2014

    Love this! I want the stamping plate you used now ❤

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 22, 2014

      The group of Bundle Monster plates it’s from did have a couple of etching problems on some of the images BUT most of them are fine and I think they’ve now corrected the issue. I ordered mine through Amazon 🙂 I really like my BM plates because of the variety and the relative cheapness, I think they’re great for starting out.

  4. penny pinching polish
    April 22, 2014

    this looks fabulous! Fonteyn is soooo pretty 🙂 xx

  5. Sandra Lewrey
    April 22, 2014

    These look fantastic – very shattered glass. Really nice. 🙂 Hopefully some of your nail mojo will rub off on me, because mine’s hightailed it out of here lately, too. NOTHING’S working out and it’s starting to get aggravating!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 22, 2014

      Nooooo! check down the back of the sofa, sometimes it’s just fallen down 😦

  6. theoxfordowl
    April 25, 2014

    This is beautiful! 😀

  7. Pingback: Stephanie and Charlie Says… It’s our 500th Post! | Pocket Money Polishes

  8. Catherine Dream
    December 31, 2014

    Woah! And it stamps perfectly! Gotta get that

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2014 by in Indie, Mainstream, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
