Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Thou shall have a fishy on a little dishy….

On one of the nail groups there’s a casual theme posted every now and again for members to post manis for and this week happened to have the prompt “Food Glorious Food” (yeh ok, it’s a theme I came up with for the group but shhh). The idea was that people could post manis inspired by their favourite foods or manis to do with dietary illnesses or pretty much anything remotely nomnom related.

 

Fish3Despite loving it dearly, I can’t eat seafood so I came up with this mani inspired by all the fishies that will not be ending up on my plate! I used MoYou Sailor plate 04 with OPI Incognito in Sausalito over OPI Just Groovy with HK GIRL Top Coat to finish. I am definitely feeling back in the zone with stamping this week! I think these designs from MoYou would make amazing coloured decals although I have yet to master this technique – any advice?

Even on the super fine designs the MoYou etchings are clearly very good – I used a standard double end konad stamper to pick up my images and an old credit card for a scraper. I have found that the plastic options work much better on MoYou plates than metal scrapers for whatever reason. I actually find the rim on MoYou  plates annoying as the excess polish tends to kind of pool there all in the way but not a biggy really and it does keep you from risking any cuts and scraped on metal edges.

fish2MoYou has really taken off with its plate collections since launching; they offer free standard UK Delivery and the code “Sammy20” gets you 20% off which is pretty damn awesome* (*true at date of publishing). When I first ordered there were just four or five themed sets to choose from now there are loads with individual images, full nail designs and even full plate designs. I am still waiting impatiently on my latest order but I am super excited to try them out. I keep my plates in a small makeup case with stamper and scraper but they could easily be stored in a photo album or some such if you have a larger collection.

If you’ve never heard of stamping and you’re curious about the process there is a whole world of Youtube tutorials out there which explain it a thousand times better than I could! Are you  a stamping pro and have any advance techniques to share? Let me know with a comment below!

fish1

8 comments on “Thou shall have a fishy on a little dishy….

  1. The Nail Art Blogger
    April 25, 2014

    This is such a cute design! And now suddenly I’m craving fish (in the middle of the night). Sorry you can’t have seafood, though!

  2. Lisa N.
    April 25, 2014

    Aww such cute fishes!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 25, 2014

      They are, if this design stays on my nails much longer (we’re on day three now) I might have to start naming them…

  3. WonderfulWolf
    April 25, 2014

    Yaaaay, fish! I love fish. I love to keep fish. I love to go fishing. I love to eat fish. Love the mani. I’ve been looking (and drooling) at the MoYou stamping plates for a while but they are kinda expensive as I’ve never really done stamping before, but maybe with the free delivery and possibly a 20% off, pay day cant come quick enough!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      April 25, 2014

      They’re worth the investment because they’ll last pretty much forever 😀

  4. bettysbeautybombs
    April 26, 2014

    Adorable!!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on April 25, 2014 by in Mainstream, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
