Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Nails Inc Battersea Power Station or How I Wear My Ugly

This week on the facebook group the theme is ugly polishes and I actually couldn’t find the lilac pearl disaster that I think is ugly so I decided to take the uniquely beautiful Nails Inc Battersea Power Station (which seems to fall into the unpopular brown/mustard ugly category) and use it in one of my favourite nail art designs.

uglysquare

Now I really like this polish, it is definitely not going to work on all skin tones but I think it’s a great colour for autumn and works well paired with a lot of the jewel toned polishes. For a lighter look I used it as accent squares over Barrym Lychee and paired with Nails Inc The Serpentine. There is something retro about these nails which I like and once the base colour is dry and striping tape (three pieces for each nail) is laid it’s pretty quick and simple to do. I have done this exact mani before HERE in another collection of colours so it didn’t take too much brain power for me on a busy Wednesday afternoon to work out which squares to colour in what colour. This design would work with more colours, smaller squares, more squares – it’s really good fun. Just make sure you have the bare minimum of polish on your brush so you can control where it goes.

UglySq3

UglySq2

Apologies for the scrappy clean up but the beloved clean up brush remains in absentia and the new ones I ordered haven’t arrived yet. I will be doing a nail art give away soon which includes one of these clean up brushes to keep an eye out for that!! What’s your favourite “ugly” polish? What do you think of Battersea Power Station? Let me know with a comment below. I hope you’re all having a fandabbydosey week!

 

7 comments on “Nails Inc Battersea Power Station or How I Wear My Ugly

  1. Lisa N.
    April 30, 2014

    That’s a fun looking checkered pattern nail art look!

  2. fashionforlunch
    April 30, 2014
  3. Sandra Lewrey
    April 30, 2014

    Very nice! 🙂 That colour reminds me of a brown polish I own (it looked different under the fluorescent lights of the store) that I refer to as “Electric Baby Poo.” It’s so ugly and I use it alllll the time for different nail art details. Sometimes ugly has its purpose.

  4. Georgina Parker
    May 2, 2014

    I quite like this one in a strange way 🙂 great post and nail art! can’t wait for your giveaway!!x

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on April 30, 2014 by in Mainstream, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
