Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Pretty Quirky: Office Politics and Parlay

Disclosure: Products were sent to me for honest review.

Happy Tuesday all! Today I have two polishes to share from you from the up and coming Summer Collection from UK Indie Pretty Quirky. These polishes are set for release on the 16th of May and will retail at £6 (for the 10ml full size bottles). I am told there will be a special offer available for the launch and the first people ordering will receive a free mini bottle of their choice of any polish available in the shop. I have two more polishes from this collection to show you next week. Don’t forget that as ever all pictures can be viewed in a larger form by clicking directly on the image.

OfficePolitics3First polish that I would like to share with you is Office Politics. This is a caramel/nude tinted base crelly packed with metallic rose coloured hexes and micro glitters. Intended as a work friendly polishes this is a fun take on feminine, chic and understated colours. I wore this in three thin coats with one coat of topcoat – the glitters spread really evenly and generously all by themselves and I had no formula issues to report. This polish would equally look great with nude undies such as Barrym Lychee but I really like the depth that comes from layering this polish over itself (as you can see VNL is just about visible in the photographs but it was much less apparent in real life although if you’re really paranoid then undies or another coat would be the way to go).

Despite the amount of glitter in this polish it didn’t feel chunky or heavy – all bumps were smoothed away with topcoat. Dry time was normal and the brush is what you would expect from these mini indie bottles – nothing special to work with but gets the jobs done and carries the glittery goodness from the bottle to the nail. I really like the name of this polish – which I think adds another talking point for when someone asks “what are you wearing on your nails?!” which I think they will because this is really pretty.

Officepolitics2

officepolitics

Onto Pretty Quirky’s first EVER glitter topper which is insanely pretty: Parlay? When asked which polishes I would like to try this was definitely top of my list. Designing glitter toppers that I WANT is tricky but I loved the colours in this one and the edgey luxxe of it. You’ll see what I mean…

ParlayThis polish combines various sizes of pale gold metalllic hexes with large gun metal navy blue hexes. This reminded me of pirate treasure (and POTC) in a bottle or sea and sand. This is a chunky glitter topper in terms of the amount of glitter and the sizes of the glitter but I am pleased to report that the glitter to base ratio is great, the brushes pick up a good amount of glitter and there is ZERO need for fishing for larger pieces. I did manage to get this opaque on its own with three dabbed coats but it didn’t have the best finished look – just TOO much. I had seen this layered over blue in a nautical design by Pretty Quirky and really wanted to try out another colour plus I really wanted to get that all over gold look working  without it looking so crazy so I went for regal colours. I created a glitter gradient over Moyra 87 which is a bright medium tone royal purple – really easy application, more about Moyra can be found on the facebook page HERE. For my accent nail I used A England Princess Sabra (also known as Tristram Eyes) which is an olive gold scattered holographic – really buttery application although I still maintain this polish is a strong smelly one. No idea why… beautiful polish though, worth the smell – available for purchase HERE.

Parlay3

Parlay2

Going back to Parlay? Honestly this polish didn’t disappoint me at all and I think would work layered over A LOT of different colours and in different ways through out the year. It’s different from anything I own and just made me feel very classy. I am definitely considering getting my hands on a fullsize bottle of this beauty as I can see it being worn in so many ways for different things.

Conclusion: Pretty Quirky is a new to me brand and a fairly new brand on the scene – I think these polishes show a great creative eye and could easily become classics. They’re tasteful but with something a little bit special – I don’t think you’ll be likely to have any dupes in your collections for these so definitely fulfilling the “Pretty” and  “Quirky” word definitions. I think this will be a UK indie brand to keep an eye on and I definitely look forward to seeing what comes out next. I cannot wait to show you the other two polishes next week. Don’t forget: May 16th, write it down…yes, now! Quick. That’s it. Ok You better write what it’s for… Pretty… Quirky… Summer Col…. There we go!

I hope you’ve enjoyed this blogged and checking out these polishes –  as ever I want to hear all your thoughts so let me know with a comment below!

 

6 comments on “Pretty Quirky: Office Politics and Parlay

  1. Lou
    May 6, 2014

    Gosh, Office Politics is lovely!

  2. Lisa N.
    May 6, 2014

    There nice!

  3. Pingback: Pretty Quirky: Milky Joe and Shapes in the Clouds | Pocket Money Polishes

  4. Pingback: Guest Starring: MO from Pretty Quirky | Pocket Money Polishes

  5. Pingback: Guest Starring: MO from Pretty Quirky (2) | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 6, 2014 by in Indie, Review, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
