Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Stephanie Says… Healthy Cooking with the Nuwave

Have you ever forgotten to take something out of the freezer for dinner? Then you end up going out to dinner and feeling guilty about it because you are “trying to be good?” I have! Been there, done that a million times!

Well, there are no more excuses not to cook a healthy meal at home. Welcome the Nuwave Pro Infrared Oven- “Revolutionary Infrared Cooking System”. If I could buy every household in America/England a Nuwave I would! I use my Nuwave Oven everyday for almost every meal! There is nothing that the Nuwave cannot do!

What I absolutely love about cooking at home and using my oven is I know exactly what is going in my meal and it is an extremely healthy way to cook your food. No fats or oils are required for cooking meat or poultry in the Nuwave, and its unique design drains two or three times the amount of fat drippings compared to your regular oven. In addition, since vegetables are cooked faster, they retain their essential nutrients that would have boiled away with a normal stovetop or oven.

The Nuwave does NOT (let me repeat that… does not) require pre-heating or defrosting. Just place FROZEN FOOD in the oven and input the designed time allotted to cook your food. Let me tell you, I was over my personal trainers house for dinner and I saw her place FROZEN, like hard as a rock, right out of the freezer straight to the Nuwave, chicken breasts. She did 8 minutes per side and out came the juiciest, moist chicken I ever had. I was so nervous it was going to rubbery and dried out and it was the total opposite! We made homemade Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo- top 10 best Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo I have ever had.

This oven is so versatile. The Nuwave can BBQ, broil, roast, bake, steam, fry, grill and dehydrate. You can cook your chicken and/or steak while steaming vegetables so dinner is ready at the same time. In addition, it uses less energy than your conventional oven or microwave!

So you may ask, this seems too good to be true. Well the geniuses at Nuwave figured out if we combined three types of heat, this miracle oven is possible. This versatile countertop appliance combines infrared, conduction and convection heat to save time, energy and even calories.   When I have leftovers, I re-heat it them in the Nuwave and I swear it comes out better than it did the night before. My boyfriend (shout-out: HI BABE!) loves spanakopita hors’ derives, put them babies in the oven, 6 minutes each side and you have warm, crunchy outer layer of philo-dough and gooey spinach and cheese inside, evenly cooked hors’ derives.

The Nuwave comes with a neat “cheat-sheet” and it tells you how long something needs to be cooked for, on what level, and which rack. The oven comes with 1 rack, when standing tall that’s the 4inch and when you flip it over now it is the 1inch. Mine also came with a DVD that showed you how to use the oven each different way, tricks on how to keep it clean and easy family friendly recipes.

Nuwave PM

Now, I said earlier I use it everyday. I’m going to give you a few of my favorite recipes!

Breakfast:

I call it “Krista’s Breakfast Sandwich” because, well my friend Krista made it up and it is deeeelish! And if you need to know one fun fact about me it’s that I hate eggs but when she makes this sandwich, I don’t even know it is there.

First: Crack an egg into an oven safe bowl (since I am trying to watch my girlish figure I eat “Better N Eggs”. They are an egg substitute and are the only egg substitute sponsored by Weight Watchers. They are 0 points.) If you are using a real egg, take a knife and kind of break the yolk.

Second: Add a touch of salt and pepper

Third: Place your oven safe dish in the Nuwave set it on Power 10 for 7 minutes.

Fourth: Cut and toast your English muffin of choice. Personally, I like original or whole wheat. The whole wheat is 20 calories less than the original.

Fifth: Time to play contractor- we are building our breakfast sandwich. Once your English muffin is toasted to your perfection and your 7 minutes of the waiting game has ended. Place the bottom English muffin on the plate, then I place a piece of cheese on the bottom muffin, next I place the egg (BECARFUL! I promise the bowl and egg will be EXTREMELY HOT), I add some salsa, then top bun. The egg will be hot enough that it will melt the cheese while you continue to build. Wait a minute so you do not burn your mouth and BAM! You just made a “Krista’s Breakfast Sandwich”.

It is such a well-rounded meal. If you use whole wheat, your good carb is the English muffin, your protein is the egg, cheese you have your dairy and the salsa is a good way to get some of your veggie count in for the day.

Time for Dinner:

So, I am Italian, and if you know any Italians, their family recipes are just that, family secret, you best be blood related if you know any of my recipes. But I am going to share the recipe that is in the Nuwave cookbook. I know the traditional way to make a meatball is to fry them but give me a break; I’m trying to be healthy.

You will need:

1lb of ground beef

1 cup of breadcrumbs

½ cup “prepare spaghetti sauce” (True Italians call this “gravy” and it never comes out of a store brand jar)

2 cloves of garlic, minced

½ medium yellow onion, minced

1 tablespoon dry Italian herbs

2 large eggs

¼ cup grated Parmesan cheese

Mix everything and form 2inch balls. Place the balls on the rack, power level 10 (or high) for 8-10 minutes, and flip half way. Make some spaghetti while they are cooking and you just made a delicious home cooked meal within 8-10 minutes.

9be99594c041a2201e6d389d4b73d5ec

The reason I love the Nuwave for making meatballs, all the fat drips off the rack landing at the bottom on the oven and not stuck in your food. Once you make your meatballs in the Nuwave, using a traditional oven will never happen again, and frying them will be a treat on a “cheat day”.

On to dessert!

This recipe is right out of the Nuwave cookbook.

Easy Low-Fat Apple Pie:

2 medium Golden Delicious or Granny Smith Apples

1 low-fat graham cracker crust

2 teaspoons Splenda

1 teaspoon cinnamon spray butter

1 can apple juice concentrate thawed

2 tablespoon cornstarch

5 sheets low-fat graham crackers

Peel and core apples and slice thin. Layer onto graham cracker crust in 3 layers, sprinkling cinnamon, Splenda, and butter spray between each layer. In plastic bag, break up graham cracker sheets in small pieces (do not crush fine) and cover apples. Thaw apple juice in 2 cup measuring cup, add cornstarch, and mix well. Pour over the top of the pie slowly, moistening crackers and filling shell to edge. Place on 1” rack, dome with tin foil (securing 4 corners so does not blow around but allowing for heat to pass through). Nuwave on power level high (or 10) for 25 minutes. Remove foil, and continue for another 20 minutes until done.

6952c627b1d609203ad9de8d74513169

I am going away for a business trip this upcoming week and I love the Nuwave so much I am borrowing my trainers Nuwave Mini. I will be gone for two weeks so eating out really is not the best option.

51+lDCcxP1L._SY300_

If you are interested in buying a Nuwave and located in the USA please visit there website: http://www.nuwaveoven.com. For residents outside of the USA please contact their customer service at customerservice@hearthware.com to order your Nuwave Oven today!

I hope you enjoyed this blog post on the Nuwave and healthy eating!

Nuwave 2 PM

I am always open to suggestions, comments, concerns you can contact me:

Email: pmpstephaniesay@gmail.com

Twitter: @pmpstephsays

Instagram: @pmpstephaniesays

Facebook: Pocket Money Polishes: Stephanie Says

Thank you for reading Stephanie Says…

Xoxo,

Stephanie

 

*Pictures with “PMP Stephanie Says” are pictures I have taken. Other pictures are from a Google search.*

 

2 comments on “Stephanie Says… Healthy Cooking with the Nuwave

  1. Lisa N.
    May 9, 2014

    Looks like you can make some wonderful delicious food using that!

  2. MARYLOU
    February 3, 2015

    I am a new uer an would appreciate a tip for re-heating pies especially apple, thanks

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2014 by in Food and tagged , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
