Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Butter London: Brown Sugar

So the weekend is a quiet time for my nails and I usually try and wear the same thing all weekend and usually do some swatching on Sunday evening for the next week. I couldn’t decide what to wear from my untrieds this weekend so asked a group of friends and they chose for me. 

BrownSugar2

Butter London Brown Sugar is something I picked up in TK Maxx back when I got my own bottle of Wallis and it’s been sat in my drawer a bit unloved. It’s a dark pinky copper colour packed with golden shimmer and flakies. This is one of those polishes which is amazing to see in person as it twinkles in the light. I was put off from wearing it because I think in pictures it looked a bit gaudy but it’s been really nice so far (been wearing this since Thursday). I used two coats on all my nails except my index which I smudged catching a falling topcoat and added another coat. It is quite a sheer polish in some ways but I think that’s necessary to really build up this complex polish.

BrownSugar3

Butter London are known for their tongue in cheek names (we’ll not mention their massive booboo recently in the naming of a certain polish) so I urban dictionary searched “Brown Sugar”: an attractive black woman / heroin. Got to love how blunt U.D. is with its definitions. Instantly got the song Golden Brown by The Stranglers going round my head: 

Golden Brown texture like sun
Lays me down with my mind she runs
Throughout the night
No need to fight
Never a frown with Golden Brown

This song had it’s own controversy but anyway… I do quite like this polish and it is entirely beautiful all by itself so it doesn’t need any faffing. I do have to report I do have a chip on my right hand so this might not last all weekend depending on how irritating I find that chip. I would say that I definitely would not pay RRP on this polish BUT it is a good polish for the £5/6 I paid. I did snap a daylight shot for you 🙂 which as you can see softens yellow tones in the gold shimmer. I

BrownSugar4

So what’s on your nails this weekend?

8 comments on “Butter London: Brown Sugar

  1. Lisa N.
    May 10, 2014

    That’s a nice color!

  2. eklinman
    May 10, 2014

    haha! i just got wallis and brown sugar together (there was a BL sale) and I am so glad i did 😀

  3. sennasation
    May 10, 2014

    Butter London is faaaabulous!

  4. Ruby Ragar
    May 10, 2014

    How I love butter London.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2014 by in Mainstream, Swatch and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
