Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Geisha Inspired Nails

Memoirs1

I am re-reading Memoirs of A Geisha for the third time and as I was closing the book I was struck by the cover which features the striking red lips and powdered white of the lower half of a geisha’s face. I felt really inspired by the strong contrasts of vibrant red against the white and also loved the black detailing of the title script.

Memoirs2I have had a hate/hate relationship with white nail polish for… A LONG TIME. I have been trying to use up my bottle of Leighton Denny Pure White which is a three coaters HOWEVER the formula pretty much refuses to dry on me and I just don’t have time for it. A lot of people recommended BarryM Matt White, Sinful Colors Snow White or OPI Alpine Snow as good alternatives – I am running low on pennies already this month after a clothing and cosmetic haul so went for Barrym as I could pick it up from my local boots with boots points i.e. it was pretty much free.

This white is a two coater – it’s streaky on the first coat but evens up on the second. Clean up is a little chalky but nothing some remover and my favourite angled brush couldn’t handle. The brush really does load up on polish which is of a normal.medium consistency so just be careful to remove excess to avoid flooding. I can’t say I am back in love with white but as whites go – this one was pretty good on its first outing. For my red I wanted something really vibrant and juicy to contrast with the heavy creme of the white so I went for OPI Too Hot Pink To Hold Em which is a pink red and a jelly formula. I wore this in three thin coats and in bright direct light there was still VNL but it didn’t bother me and this colour is just so vivid and glossy that it’s worth it. I contemplated doing some sort of sandwich but in the end I decided to do some stamping on one of my white painted nails instead.

Memoirs3 Initially I was going to stamp the geisha’s face from my MoYou Suki 07 plate but then spotted this image on MoYou Pro 09 of a humming bird with some delicate flowers. I have tried stamping this image before but have failed to pick up certain details, this week however my new bottle of Konad Special Polish Black finally arrived so I knew I was absolutely good to go. I stamped the image slightly off centre to make the bird central in the design and with a small detail brush added some Too Hot Pink To Hold Em to the flowers to tie the colours all together. As ever I topcoated with my now trusty HK Girl Topcoat which as you can see didn’t smudge the design at all. Apologies for the slightly oily fingers but my cuticles were looking a little chapped after clean up so I whacked on a bit of Bliss Kiss to nourish them and make them macro ready.

I think the colours used can be very start and strong but the flowers kind of soften the combination and add a bit of feminine edge. Ok time for me to go and finish the book (again) – for anyone wondering the war has just arrived in Gion and life is changing big time.

6 comments on “Geisha Inspired Nails

  1. Lisa N.
    May 12, 2014

    They turned out great!

  2. MO
    May 12, 2014

    This is so pretty. Really stunning. Going to have to try this out x

  3. bettysbeautybombs
    May 13, 2014

    Gorgeous mani! I love the inspiration!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 12, 2014 by in Mainstream, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
