Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Guest Starring: MO from Pretty Quirky

Hi PMP readers. 

Oriental Blossoms 03 I’m MO from Pretty Quirky and Charlie has kindly invited me to pen a guest post. This is a first for me so I hope you like the nail art I’m going to share with you today.

The manicure I’m wearing was based on an oriental painting that I found while looking for inspiration online. There’s no way I have the ability to freehand this completely, I’m just not that good, but I think that I may have discovered a little cheat that can help us budding free-handers along the way. 

Oriental Blossoms 01All of the polishes used to achieve this look, bar top coats, were from Nails Inc. I started out with a base colour of Park West and then sponged on Chester Street and Holland Park Gardens until I had achieved my desired base colour. I then used a MoYou London image plate from the Suki Collection (Plate 08) to stamp on branches and flowers in a brown outline with Holland Park Avenue. Up until this point it just looked like a simple stamping design. Pretty enough but lacking that unique look I was after.
Here’s the fun bit. Using a cut down nail art brush and black polish I traced some of the branch detail and added in some lines. Then I simply coloured the flowers and dabbed in the cottons using a brush and different colour polishes (Mayfair, Westbourne Grove and Notting Hill Carnival). This was sealed using Sally Hensen Insta-Dri Top Coat and then Opi’s Matte Top Coat finished off the oriental look.
I know that if I set out to do this on my own it would have ended up a white polish mess but by stamping in the image first it gave me a guide to stick to and then work around. It’s certainly given me a confidence boost to try my hand at more intricate nail art in the future. Hopefully it has encouraged you too!
Oriental Blossoms 02
Oriental Blossoms 04
Thanks for reading and a massive thank you to Charlie for letting me run riot on PMP today, it’s a huge honour!
MO xxx
Big welcome and thanks to MO, don’t forget Pretty Quirky released their summer collection on the 16th – you can see some swatches and reviews I have done HERE and HERE
3 comments on “Guest Starring: MO from Pretty Quirky

  1. Lisa N.
    May 14, 2014

    This turned out gorgeous! Such pretty yellow floral nails 🙂

  2. MO
    May 14, 2014

    🙂

  3. Pingback: Guest Starring: MO from Pretty Quirky (2) | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 14, 2014 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
