Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Stephanie Says: Why Not A Home Date Night?

me and craigSo it’s Friday and you and your special someone don’t know what to do.  Why do you have date night at home?  I can’t wait to get home and make this meal for my man.  He likes it when we have date night at home because he knows he’s going to luck out and get a fantastic meal made for a king.

My boyfriend is a meat and potatoes kind of guy.  If he could have medium rare steak and mashed potatoes every night, he totally would.  But since I actually like him and want him around, I don’t need him having a heart attack by the time he is 30, I make a lot of chicken! But when I get home I am going to be cooking him his favorite steak, mashed “potatoes”, and his favorite (and only veggie he will eat) steamed broccoli.

My boyfriend’s favorite cut of meat is rib eye and he likes it medium-rare.  For any cut of meat you should marinate it for at least 30 minutes before cooking.  We loooooveeee spicy food and I found this rub that looks awesome!

In a bowl mix salt, pepper, chili powder and cayenne pepper.  Rub the seasoning on all sides of the rib eye and let it set for at least 30 minutes.  Once the rib eye is ready to cook, either place on a hot grill for 4-6 minutes per side.  If you want it more medium or medium well keep it on the grill for a few extra minutes per side.  If you will be using your Nuwave like I will be I will leave it in for about 5 minutes per side.  I suggest starting your meat last since that will take fastest time to cook.

mocked mashed potatoesNext is mocked mashed “potatoes”.  You will need a head of cauliflower, garlic, salt and butter.  First, trim the cauliflower, meaning cut the steam off and cut the head into small florets.  Throw in a pot of boiling water (add salt to the water) for about 10-15 mins (or until soft).  Drain and now treat the cauliflower as if it was potatoes.  There are 100 ways to “mash” potatoes or in our case cauliflower.  You can use a food processor, old school masher; whip them etc, whichever method you like, use.  While mashing add in some salt, a clover of minced garlic, and some butter and proceed to mash.  If you see your “mocktatoes” getting dry you can add a splash of milk.  If you want super creamy mashed cauliflower add in some cream cheese! Once all mashed, place in a serving bowl and top with some chives or parsley and a pat of butter.  YUM! I am pretty sure my tummy just growled.

Onto the broccoli!  I love super steamed broccoli.  The longer the steam, the better.  Plain old steamed broccoli is boring, mix it up and don’t be afraid to use your spices!  I personally like red pepper flakes, salt and pepper.  I’ve also used Mrs. Dash all seasoning spice but sometimes I feel like there is too much going on.  How I steam my veggies is either wrap in foil with some water on the bottom and place in the Nuwave while my protein is cooking or I get a microwave safe bowl add some water and broccoli, put a coffee filter over the bowl and put in the microwave for about 2 minutes.  Easy peasy!   Keep in the microwave until you reached the level of softness.

Time for plating! There are so many different ways to plate.  You can put a big pile of your mocked mashed “potatoes” in the middle of the plate and then place your rib eye right on top. Add brown gravy and place broccoli off to the side.  My boyfriend doesn’t like it when his food touches so I’m pretty boring when it comes to plating. Every thing on the plate has it’s own space, rib eye on one side on the plate with the veggies next to it.

Table setting for twoNeed a good wine?  Typically you want a red wine when eating steak.  A great wine when eating rib eye is a Cab.  Cabernet Sauvignon is a rich, dry red wine usually with black fruits, oat and pepper notes.  If a Cab is too strong, try your steak with a Syrah/Shiraz that is a red wine normally with blackberry, plum and pepper.  Still too strong?  Try a Tempranillo, a wine with back plum, boysenberry and an undertone flavor of pepper and vanilla.

Time to break out the fancy steam wear, linen napkins and tablecloth.  For a romantic unique setting don’t set the table where you normally eat, why not set something up on the coffee table and sitting on the floor?  May I suggest, a white linen tablecloth, a colored linen napkin for a pop of color and tea light candles to set the mood.  Have your fancy wine and water glasses, along with your good utensils.  Grab some pillows, yell for your honey and park your tush at the coffee table and enjoy a date night at home.

As far as clean up, you slaved over making your special someone the perfect, they can do the dishes!!

I hope you enjoyed my take for a at home date night! It is safe to say I miss my babe and can’t wait to get home!

Xoxo,

Stephanie

One comment on “Stephanie Says: Why Not A Home Date Night?

  1. Lisa N.
    May 17, 2014

    What a cute idea! Thanks for sharing!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2014 by in Food, Lifestyle, Stephanie Says and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
