Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

F is for: First Date At The Golden Gate

SUPER EXCITING POST TODAY. Well… I am excited anyway BECAUSE at the end of this post I have a little giveaway but before we get to that let’s see my contribution this week to the AtoZ Series. Don’t forget you can check out what the other lovely ladies have been up to and see all the previous posts HERE.

FirstDate1

My “F” of choice after much consideration is OPI First Date At The Golden Gate from the San Fancisco collection. This is kind of a brickish red with a squishy formula that I fell in love with when I got it (and sparked a massive red polish buying binge which we shall not discuss #ALLTHEREDS).

I used two coats for opacity and have no major problems to report (as you would expect) BUT it is a little thinner than some of the formulas I have been using recently and I had some cuticle flooding on my little finger because I was being a bit slap dash and reckless in my application.

I really wanted to give this polish a summery look and since Fairground by Simply Red was going round my head I came up with my accent nails. More explanation to follow…

Firstdate3

I decided to do a primary water marble but discovered that First Date doesn’t play that nicely in the water marble so I ended up just using white, yellow and blue for the base design. My polishes of choice were OPI Suzi Says Feng Shui, OPI I Just Can’t Cope-a-Cobana and Barrym Matt White (which was the under colour and part of the swirl).

This is only my second proper attempt at water marbling and a few small bubbles aside I was really pleased with how this came out and I am going to one again thank Tracey (Bite No More) for her tips! If you need all the help you can get when it comes to water marbling you’re going to like my giveaway! Once the design had dried I went in with my dotting tool and added red and white dots following the curl of my swirl. All that was left to do then was topcoat.

FirstDate2

I love how this red has a vintage edge going on but looks so glossy and squishy on the nail.

Onto the giveaway: If you follow the link below you’ll be transported to rafflecopter where you can subscribe to various things for entries (I promise there are no demands for first born children or HTF OPI :D) and the prize… … … DRUM ROLL… … ..

 

Prize1 Copy of Tracey Bellew’s The Art To Water Marbling Nails Flipbook (worth £6) and 1 angled clean up brush (identical to the one I LOVE but brand new and just for you). I love this book, I did flip through it when it arrived and I think that Tracey did a great job with it so can’t wait to share it with one lucky winner! T&Cs are on the Rafflecopter, so yeh – you got to be in it to win it!

TO THE GIVEAWAY

2 comments on “F is for: First Date At The Golden Gate

  1. Lisa N.
    May 21, 2014

    This is nice. I like the accent nail.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 21, 2014 by in Mainstream, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
