Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Guest Starring: Rachel!

I’m Rachel, I’m a 22-year old University students and have been into nails for ages, but really got into the world of indies and foreign polishes about a year and a half ago. Since then my stash has got completely out of control!

One question which often comes up on nail groups and chat pages is something along the lines of “If you could only have 1/5/10 polishes, which would you choose?” Obviously the thought of having so few polishes is enough to strike fear into the heart of even the newest polish fanatic, but it’s a question which often gets me thinking about which are actually my favourites. I decided to give it a try – after much chopping and changing, I finally chose my 10 favourite polishes.  I’ve divided them into two groups, the glitters, and the non-glitters. It’s the non-glitters I’ll be starting with today.

Rachel1

Here’s a photo of my ‘basics’. I swear by the Leighton Denny crystal file, for a really precise, quick shaping every couple of days. All of these swatches are over one coat of Nailtiques Formula 2 which I use as a base coat. It’s a strengthening protein varnish which has really sorted out my thin, flakey nails. Glisten and Glow HK Girl Top Coat is my top coat of choice. It is by far the best top coat I have ever used, it makes your manicure rock hard and touch-dry super quickly. I use a few different cuticle balms, but Burts Bees Lemon Butter Cuticle Cream is my current favourite.

On with the swatches!

Rachel4

First we have OPI Mod about You, a lovely pastel pink crème. This swatch is 3 thin coats with 1 coat of HK Girl. This, like many pastel crèmes, isn’t super easy to get even, but I think the final colour makes it worth it! This is my go-to summer polish and a bit of a palette cleanser after too much glitter!

Rachel2

Next we have Colors by Llarowe Gizzards and Lizards, a dark green holographic stunner. This is 2 very thin coats- but you could easily get away with 1. The formula is absolutely flawless, self-levelling and dries very quickly.

Rachel5

Rachel8

Thirdly is Dance Legend Termo Shine 179. This is a thermal glitter polish. In its warm state, it’s a translucent pale pink, almost white. In its cold state, it’s a vibrant red, with the matte black glitter standing out in both states. I love this because the thermal pigment is really sensitive, and changes with the slightest cold breeze, or when you’re holding a hot cup of tea! This is 2 coats, but 1 works well too. The formula is great – no fishing or glitter placement required.

Rachel3

Next, there’s Deborah Lippmann Through the Fire, a lovely rich metallic red. I know this is quite festive, but I love it so much that I wear it quite often. This is easy to apply- beautiful buttery formula, but you have to watch out for cuticle drag because of the metallic finish. Here we have 2 coats, but it’s completely opaque in 1! I’d recommend having a scout around somewhere like TK Maxx for Deborah Lippmann polishes as they often appear in there in packs of 3, at a decent discount.

Rachel7

Finally, we have a really special polish. I was lucky enough to find this gem on ebay in a job lot. This is OPI DS Original, which is unfortunately long-discontinued. I have no idea why OPI don’t bring back their holographic polishes because they are great. This is a bit of a stinky polish, presumably because it’s from back when OPI wasn’t 3 Free. It’s quite a translucent holo – it takes 3 coats for opacity, as the formula is quite thin, but it dries very quickly and has an excellent shine even without top coat.

Rachel6

So if you had to pick 5 or 10 polishes from your stash, which would you choose? I’ll be back again soon with 5 glitter polishes!

I can’t wait to see what Rachel will pick for her top glitters!! I know just how hard picking favourites can be – took me a lot of debating to settle on my Top 20 OPI! 

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on May 27, 2014 by in Guest Post, Indie, Mainstream, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
