Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Lipstick Hauling

Recently I developed a new obsession – lipsticks. I am blaming this new obsession on a combination of beauty vloggers AND Emma from Imagination in Colour (who causes me much expense whenever we are out together!). Emma recently did a fab blog on the new Barrym Cor Balmy line – sadly my lips aren’t as perfect as hers so I have swatched my new goodies on my arm. I have worn ALL of these colours in the last couple of weeks so I will do my best to give each a mini review.

Lipstick6

First up are my two lipsticks from the Collection Deluxe range – you may remember these from my haul video. I have shade 01 Prohibition and 02 Tallulah both of these have a super creamy texture and dewy finish which make both really lovely to wear. They’re just pigmented enough to give you a boost of colour but not heavy which I especially like about Prohibition as it’s a colour I can build or just wear a hint of. The wear time on these polishes is ok and not having to wear lipbalm as well is a big plus for me. These RRP for £4.99 each so are totally affordable, I really like the packaging and they survived well in my handbag with no loose lids or any damage to them. Tallulah is officially my go to “my lips but better” colour – this is perfect for those days when you’re going for a natural but polished look.

Lipstick5

Top – Prohibition Bottom – Tallulah

 

Lipstick4

My next picks are from the Collection Lasting Colour line – these are less creamy but more pigmented than the Deluxe line. I believe these RRP for £3.99, so slightly cheaper again. I bought Bubblegum first and instantly fell in love with its candy pink tone with pale lilac hiding in the base. I do wear these over lipbalm as they can occasionally settle into fine lines on my lips and over time are a little drying but it’s nothing major. These do transfer onto mugs etc like no ones business and because they’re pigmented it’s noticable that they decrease in how vivid they are but topping up is not a mega issue and at least they don’t wear down to a patchy appearance. My camera has taken some of the pink tone out of Mango Tango which is more coral (and a bit less neon), apologies for that, I tried several times but it was not playing ball with being colour accurate today.

Lipstick3

Top – Bubblegum, Middle – Mango Tango, Bottom – Sweet Tart

To make these colours really pop I use any foundation left on my beauty blender on my lips, apply lip balm (currently Maybelline Baby Lips is my go to) and then my colour.

Lipstick2 These were an indulgence from Maybelline Colorsensational lipstick after a very bad day. My camera doesn’t like photographing Neon Red either and has taken out some of the “RED” tone. These feel similar to the Collection Lasting Colour Line and are pigmented but I find I need a few passes for full colour (which is fine with me). Midnight Plum is a very “different” colour with my pale skin it looks quite vampy and has a lovely blue shimmer in it. Probably one for fall more than summertime but I loved wearing this with my tartan dress for a twist on a conservative outfit. Fatal Red is a pretty classic red colour – very wearable as a day time statement lip or for a sophisticated evening look. Neon Red is a colour I am less sure about – it is bright but very slightly… rusty? I haven’t given this one a proper test run yet, but again, probably more something for the autumn although it is a nice bridge into the orange lip trend at the moment. I have two orange lipsticks from Barrym but I hate BOTH of them – TERRIBLE waxy formula… anyway, that’s a whole other thing.

Lipstick1

Top – Neon Red, Middle – Fatal Red, Bottom – Midnight Plum

I did kind of buy Fatal Red just for the name but it is also my first true red polish and I really like it 😀 Happy blogger! I believe these RRP for £6.99 so a little bit pricey but they’re a great treat on 3for2. I think this could be the start of a new obsession – any lipstick brands or colours I need to try?

10 comments on “Lipstick Hauling

  1. Lisa N.
    June 9, 2014

    Nice lipsticks you picked up!

  2. Elizabeth
    June 9, 2014

    I love the Mango Tango!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      June 10, 2014

      Me too 😀 I am obsessed with vibrant candy tones. Dying to track down some of the Nyx Macaron colours!

  3. Kerrie
    June 10, 2014

    Great post, my lipstick stash is almost as big as my polish one. I have those maybelline ones but I might have to invest in some of the other ones!

  4. Tracey
    June 10, 2014

    Great post, I used to have so many lipsticks when I was younger, now only have about 6 and don’t wear them that often…

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      June 10, 2014

      It’s a new thing for me, I’ve never really bothered with lip products as I’m really more of an eye makeup girl but it’s like a world of brand new possibilities 😀

  5. Ruby Ragar
    June 10, 2014

    I love bubblegum the most!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on June 9, 2014 by in Mainstream, Makeup, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
