Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Stephanie Says: What To Get For Father’s Day

Hello Everyone! Sorry I haven’t been blogging as consistent as I should, but my life right now is a little crazy!  The boyfriend and I are trying to buy a house!

Anyways! Fathers Day is right around the corner and I still haven’t gotten my dads anything (dads meaning real dad and step dad).  Plus what do you get someone who has everything!? Well, I have come up with a creative list that will help me and hopefully you celebrate your dad!

First up, my step dad.  He hates is when I spend money on him.  He thinks I should keep and save it for myself.  I totally get it; most parents want their kids to save their money.  I thought about getting him a gift card to get boat stuff, or a beer of the month club membership but I know he will say “thank you” and we just call it a day.  It won’t be memorable.  So I am thinking the only way to make this memorable is through his belly!  My plan is to make sweet and spicy ribs, steamed vegetables, either mac n cheese or mashed potatoes as my carb or maybe some baked beans.  This is already making me hungry!

ribs

Source: HERE

Here is my rib recipe I will be using.  My family and I like things spicy!  We want to sweat when we are eating! So if you do not like spice, you can tailor this recipe to your family needs.

I prep the ribs the night before.  I take the lining off of the back of the ribs.  Next, I make a rib rub.   Every time I make ribs they turn out differently each time because I go off of my taste buds of the day.  But standard spices I use are cayenne pepper, paprika, salt, pepper, garlic powder, cinnamon, and brown sugar.  I mix it all together, message the meat and wrap them with foil and place in the fridge over night.  The next day, I pre-heat the over to 350 degrees; pop the ribs in for about 30-40 minutes then I lower the heat to 300 degrees.  The ribs will cook for another hour-hour and a half and I flip them and let the ribs cook for another hour-hour and a half.  Once the ribs are done in the oven, I finish them off on the grill (about 5 minutes per side) with my family’s super sensitive top-secret BBQ recipe!!!  Just kidding! I use Jack Daniel’s Brown Sugar and Maple BBQ Sauce.  I normally like to make everything homemade but this sauce is delish!  If it’s not broke, don’t fix it, right?!  My parents and my boyfriend love it when I make these ribs.  The spice rub gives you the heat in the back of your throat so you know they have some flavor but the BBQ sauce cools your mouth off.

While the ribs are cooking, I will start on some homemade mashed potatoes or mac n cheese.  Knowing my step-dad, I am probably going to make mashed potatoes.  Maybe I should trick him and make my mocked mashed potatoes from my pervious blog so our waistline doesn’t hate us!  And when the ribs are on the grill, I will also have my seasoned veggies wrapped in foil with a little water on the bottom and a small opening on top and put them on the grill to steam.

For dessert, I am going to make this super easy, I am going to get store bought pound cake, fresh peaches and pineapple and whipping cream.  Lightly grill your pound cake (about 2 minutes per side) and grill your fruit.  The sugar will come out due to the heat of the grill and start caramelizing!  I think this is the perfect summer time dessert.  I will also make homemade whipped cream to bring the dessert together.

grilled pound cake and pineapple

Source: HERE

Now if that’s not an awesome Father’s Day meal… I don’t know what is!

Next onto Dad number 2, my real dad.  He can be complicated at times but likes the simple things in life. If the sun is out give him a cigar, alcoholic beverage, some music on and time with his only daughter, he is a happy camper.  My idea for my Dad is getting him a membership to a cigar month club.  Sounds kind of lame right? Compared to what I am doing for my step-dad.  Well, I am going to decorate the cigar box with pictures of us, things he likes and the pictures of his travels.

cigar box

Source: HERE

BAM! WHO JUST BECAME DAUGHTER OF THE YEAR!? Decorating the box won’t take long either, this really just boils down to that it’s the thought that counts.

i love you dad

Source: HERE

Remember, that is all our dads (and for the single mom’s out there Happy Father’s/Second Mother’s Day- because you do A LOT!) ever want.  They honestly do not care about materialistic things.  They just want to spend time with their kids and have a nice day.  Spending the day with them is worth more to them than us stressing on what to get or do.

But if you are really stuck and don’t know what to get your dad here are a couple of ideas:

  1. Home cooked meal
  2. Beer/Wine month club membership
  3. Cigar month club membership
  4. Family photo holding up a quote (“I Love Daddy”, “Best Dad Every”, etc)
  5. The good old classic of getting him a tie.
  6. BBQ kit
  7. Car kit
  8. Beer/Wine making kit
  9. Home made/ DIY cards, painting, etc
  10. Gift card to his favorite restaurant.  He can have a date night with you!

 

 

Again, as always thank you for reading Stephanie Says… if you make any of the recipes I have post, please let me know what you think of them.  I hope you and your dad have an amazing Father’s Day.

 

Xoxox

Stephanie Says

 

You can follow me on:

Twitter: @pmpstephsays

Instagram: @pmpstephaniesays

Email me: pmpstephaniesays@gmail.com

Or like my Facebook Page: Pocket Money Polishes: Stephanie Says  

One comment on “Stephanie Says: What To Get For Father’s Day

  1. Lisa N.
    June 11, 2014

    Great ideas!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2014 by in Food, Lifestyle, Stephanie Says and tagged , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
