Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Stephanie Says…Indulge!

Stephanie Says…Indulge!

We only have one life to live, why don’t you make the most of it! Experience everything and anything you want to do. You only live once, so why not make it count?

I say INDULGE! It is ok to have a piece of cake because you feel like it. Just make up for it the next day at the gym. It is ok to spend the extra $10 on towels or sheets because they feel soft and fluffier than the others. You know the saying “happy wife, happy life”? Well, I say “happy me, happy life”. If a $25 bottle of shampoo is going to make me happy, then I am totally going to get it. That will make me, and everyone around me happy. No one likes a crab!

 

With that being said I am going to share one of my favorite things to indulge in. I have to say I can thank my step-dad for this one because if he never introduced this to me as a little kid, I don’t think I would have ever tried it on my own. One of my top five things to indulge in is Key Lime Pie. Normally, I don’t like sweets. I hate birthday cake, cupcakes, certain types of brownies and cookies. I like to stick with the basics of chocolate chip cookies, anything Reese’s and Snickers, and once in a while some ice cream. But nothing compares to Key Lime Pie. When I see a Key Lime Pie little hearts float around.

 

Summer is here and this is a great summer dessert. It can go with any meal. Here is a recipe I use:

KeyLimePie

 

First you will need to make your Graham Cracker crust:

¾ pound Graham Cracker

4 tbsp. of sugar

2 melted sticks of butter

¼ tsp of salt

 

To make graham cracker crust: preheat over to 325 degrees

 

Place graham crackers in the food processor and process to crumbs. If you don’t have a processor, place crackers in a Ziploc bag and use a rolling pin or meat tenderizer. Add the melted butter, sugar, salt until all combined. Press the mixture into the bottom of your pie pan (9 inch), forming an even layer on the bottom, sides and edge. Bake the crust for about 10 minutes. Let it completely cool.

 

Filling:

4 egg yolks

14oz (1 can) of condensed milk

2/3 fresh Key Lime Juice (if you cant find key lime you can use regular lime juice)

1 lime- grated zest

 

To make the filling: In an electric mixer with a wire whisk attachment, whip the egg yolks and lime zest at high speed until fluffy. This should take about 5-6 minutes. Gradually add in the condensed milk and continue to whip until thick. About 3-4 minutes. Lower the mixer speed and slowly add in the key lime juice until its incorporated. Pour the mixture into the crust and bake for 15 minutes, or until the filling has just set. Cool on a wire rack, then refrigerate for 20 minutes.

 

As I said before, I really don’t like sweets and I especially hate whipped cream, so I don’t add a topping but here is the recipe for the topping.

 

Topping:

1 cup of heavy or whipping cream (chilled)

2 tbsp confections sugar

½ tsp of vanilla

 

Whip the cream, confectioners’ sugar and vanilla until nearly stiff. Evenly spread the whipped cream on top of the pie, and place in the freezer for 20 minutes prior to serving!

 

If you make this recipe, let me know what you think!

 

As always thank you for reading Stephanie Says… I am always open to feedback.

Want me to write anything in particular? Email me!

 

Xoxo

Stephanie

 

Follow me on:

Twitter: pmpstephsays

Instagram:pmpstephaniesays

Facebook: Pocket Money Polishes: Stephanie Says

Email: pmpstephaniesays@gmail.com

One comment on “Stephanie Says…Indulge!

  1. Lisa N.
    June 20, 2014

    That looks so yummy!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2014 by in Stephanie Says and tagged , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
