Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Stephanie Says…Awareness

Hi All!

I hope everyone had a great weekend. I sure did and I can’t wait to share it with you!

I had the honor to be a part of a great organization this past weekend. I did a 5k walk for Brain Tumor Awareness with the National Brain Tumor Society.

brain tumor walk me

About 6 months ago one of my best friend’s friend, whom is now my friend, was diagnosed with a brain tumor. We were so blessed that she got help when she did because they caught the tumor early.

Our friend was having constant headaches turned to migraines. She went to every doctor to see what the problem was and initially the “diagnoses” was she needed glasses and her headaches/ migraines were caused by squinting. After she got her glasses, the headaches/migraines continued and went back to her doctor. After many tests and CAT scans her doctors found a tumor on her brain. At that time, the doctors could not tell if it was cancerous or not until surgery. That was her next move. Our friend underwent about a 5 hour surgery. About 2.5 hours to take a biopsy of the tumor to determine if it was cancerous. Then an additional 2.5 hours to remove the deadly tumor. We were so relieved to find out that the tumor was only at the beginning stages and was not cancerous.

Today, our friend is doing great and back to normal. Over the weekend we honored her by walking with the National Brain Tumor Society.

brain tumor walk twinnie jewles me

The National Brain Tumor Society raises money throughout the year to find a cure. We were so blessed that our friend caught it early. Our team, Julianna’s Jewels, raised over $2,000! It was the perfect day for a 5k and raise awareness for the most brilliant part of our body, the brain.

brain tumor walk group shot

Now, this blog isn’t just dedicated to the National Brain Tumor Society and Julianna’s Jewels but to every health society out there. Early detection of any health risk can only help yourself.

If something does not feel right, pay the $35 co-pay and visit your doctor because it could save your life.

There are so many organizations I am grateful for because of early detection. I have two stories that are dear to my heart.

First, my grandmother, she truly is the strongest woman I know. About 20 years ago she was diagnosed with ovarian cancer and beat it! 14 years ago she was diagnosed with lung cancer and kicked that bitch to the curb and lastly 6 years ago she was diagnosed with breast cancer. Because of early detection she was able to beat cancer 3 TIMES! If cancer can’t beat her, nothing can. It helped that we knew warning signs and took her to the doctor. She is still with us today and I am ever so grateful.

Second story is about my step dad. My parents and I were having dinner and he was explaining how he have having heavier cheats pains than usual when he was working out. That was my first red flag. Second red flag is that heart issues run in his family. I DEMANDED that he see his doctor immediately. Of course being a man he fought back, and I didn’t leave the house until he called and made an appointment. The next week, while on vacation I get a phone call from him. He is in the hospital because his tests showed his heart valves were 95% clogged. He was a walking heart attack waiting to happen. He told me I saved his life and I did…. All because of early detection.

We all need to be aware of the diseases that run in the family so we know our loved ones are safe and healthy.

To learn more about early detection about brain tumors please visit The National Brain Tumor Society website. All other early detection signs please visit their national society website (below).

Research and Development is critical! Take the time to be aware!

brain tumor walk collage

Again, thank you for reading Stephanie Says. I am always open to feedback.

Xoxo,

Stephanie

You can follow me on:

Twitter: @pmpstephsays

Instagram: @pmpstephaniesays

Email: pmpstephaniesaya@gmail.com

Facebook: Pocket Money Polishes: Stephanie Says

 

Weblinks:

http://www.braintumor.org/

http://www.heart.org/HEARTORG/

http://www.nationalbreastcancer.org/

One comment on “Stephanie Says…Awareness

  1. Lisa N.
    June 25, 2014

    Great walk for a great cause. It was nice to see and read this post.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
