Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Stephanie Says…Namaste

Yoga… “Peace. It does not mean to be in a place where there is no trouble, no noise or hard work. It means to be in the midst of all these things and still be calm in your heart.”

 

I am very excited to be doing a blogpost about yoga. I got the privilege to interview a good friend of mine who just became a yoga instructor! Her name is Kelly and truly has a deep passion for yoga.

kelly yoga 2

You may ask where yoga comes from. Well, it depends on whom you ask but from Kelly’s understanding, yoga originates from India. Throughout Kelly’s training, she was provided with a foundation of understanding of where yoga originated from by reading the Bhagaved Gita. For more information, I would check out some associated readings: http://www.bhagavad-gita.us. Or you can buy the book Kelly used during her training: http://www.amazon.com/Gita-Wisdom-Krishnas-Teachings-Yoga-ebook/dp/B004TM1QYO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1404258844&sr=8-1&keywords=gita+wisdom+by+joshua+green.

 

Kelly always enjoyed yoga. She started practicing about five years ago but she wasn’t ready to take it seriously. Kelly did yoga occasionally that provided her with a sense on centering. As life happens and sometimes gets in the way, Kelly is a busy bee, always on the go. For a quick escape, she would take a yoga class here and there to get away from all the craziness that life threw at her. Kelly would go to the gym to take a class or occasionally pop in a DVD at home but nothing felt the same. It wasn’t until she found Powerflow Yoga in Morristown, NJ about a year ago when Kelly began a deep yoga journey and practice. I remember when Kelly and I went to a class; boy did it kick my tush!! But I could see the passion in her eyes. Kelly found something beautiful on the mat in their studios, something she found herself yearning for when she didn’t have it. This is when she realized she wanted to take yoga more seriously and she did. Now, she is a yoga instructor!

kelly yoga

Yoga has so many benefits but there is one benefit I am forever grateful for. It saved my friend’s life. Kelly started yoga when she was going through a major life crisis. She had been battling with eating and body image problems. Kelly was an incessant runner. Yoga showed her that wasn’t her purpose in life; that her goal in life should not be to starve her and exercise to oblivion. Yoga is all about acceptance. “Embrace and love your body. It’s the most amazing thing you will ever own.”

 

When Kelly steps into the yoga studio, she is herself. She doesn’t have to prove anything to anybody in the studio or what her worth is, based off of physical appearances. She’s valued as her true self her no matter her weight or looks.

 

The yoga community, in general, is very accepting, non-judgmental and welcoming. She felt like she was a part of a whole other community and was appreciated for well… just because. Not only this, but also she felt she was becoming more patient, less anxious, and a nice/happier person. Overall her world has changed for the good. I can totally vouch for the yoga community being accepting. When we took our first class, I was at my heaviest. I was so self-conscious of myself and just didn’t like where I was in my life. But I have to say, I did the best I could and 20 minutes before the class end, I physically could not handle it anymore and the instructor was totally cool and chill about it. She told me to just lie there. She did not care that I couldn’t finish the class. She accepted my yoga level and me.

 

Like I said before, yoga has many benefits. I briefly described Kelly’s biggest benefit. Yoga positively impacts the mind, the body and soul. It is good exercise for your physical body, but gets you in touch with your spirit. Yoga lets you disconnect from the stressors of the outside world and to focus on yourself, but not in a selfish way. It is time that should be devoted to oneself that we normally in our very busy worlds often do not take the time to do. Yoga is a safe outlet. Yoga teaches you to take care of yourself and to take care of the world around you; to eat better, to live a healthier lifestyle, to embrace others and value them for their souls, to love deeper, to connect to a greater community and so much more. Yoga has the combination of meditation and peaceful surroundings with the physical focus. We should all try a little yoga and see how it benefits us personally.

yoga benefits

I remember the day Kelly and I took our first hot yoga class. It was one of the hardest workouts I have ever done but yet I find myself wanting to do it more.   The last time I did yoga was over a year ago when Kelly was getting serious. I asked her for some beginner’s tip and I am actually excited to take another class. Kelly’s one advice for beginners is to go. Give yoga a try. If you embrace it, Kelly promises only good will come from your practice. As long as you are on board, Kelly’s next tip for us beginners is to go to a beginner’s level class to build a foundation. Yoga can be intimidating at first for beginners, without meaning to be. It’s not about jumping into the crazy arm balances, insane back-bends and impressive acroyoga mechanics right off the bat. Yoga is called a “practice” for a reason, and the more you go, the deeper your practice will become; the further it will take you.   Those things can come with time, but that is not the true goal of yoga.

 

I know life gets crazy; we always make excuses not to work out. Trrrrrust me, I do it every day. I totally can see the angel and the devil on my shoulders and I don’t know how but the angel usually comes on top. But Kelly was gracious enough to give us some tips to do at home or in a pinch for time. An easy and quick yoga practice could entail just running through a series of a couple of sun a salutations and/or sun b salutations.  What is nice about yoga is that it is so widespread these days making it possible for easy access to classes.

sunsalutationfinal

 

If you live in the North Jersey area, Kelly is offering FREE yoga classes every weekend in July at Horseshoe Lake, Succasunna (Roxbury) 10am-11am. All levels and all ages welcomed! Yoga class meets at the flagpole near the baseball concession stand.

free yoga

For more information on Kelly and yoga in general please like her Facebook Page “KellyKorovichYoga”.

 

As always, thank you for reading Stephanie Says…

 

Xoxo,

Stephanie

 

Follow me on:

Twitter: @pmpstephsays

Instagram: @pmpstephaniesays

Email: pmpstephaniesays@gmail.com

Facebook: Pocket Money Polishes: Stephanie Says

4 comments on “Stephanie Says…Namaste

  1. Lisa N.
    July 2, 2014

    Great post on Yoga! I really need to try to exercise more often myself.

  2. Pingback: Sun Salutations Intermediate Yoga Class 49mins, Yoga Stories 2, Guru Mantra, Namaste Yoga 233 | euzicasa

  3. Catherine Dream
    July 31, 2014

    I am honestly DREAMING of taking a hot yoga class – I would love to do that!

    I started getting into yoga two years ago, but I had to stop a year ago when I broke my leg – I agree with your points completely, it’s such a calming, yet energising practice. Cannot WAIT to get into it again.

  4. Pingback: Stephanie and Charlie Says… It’s our 500th Post! | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
