Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Island inspired Mani

 

Island5

I was super lucky to get a nail mail care package with a couple of OPIs in this week which definitely arrived at the right time as I currently have zero pennies in the bank and a major hankering to splurge. I received Did It On Em  – a lime yellow from the Nicki Minaj Collection and Kiss Me On My Tulips – a lovely bright pink. Seeing these colours together in the parcel I immediately knew I wanted to combine them in a mani. They got me in the tropical mood and I decided to add a third colour for accent finger purposes – I thought I had grabbed Amazon… Amazoff but turns out I actually picked up Jade is the New Black (it was 2am at the time, please forgive me!).

Island4

This mani is definitely inspired by all the various brights under black manis around at the moment as well as the tribal nail trend – I used MoYou Tourist 17 (aka the Hawaii plate) and Konad Special Polish Black for the pattern. For the base I started with one medium coat of Did It On Em, if you were wearing this on its own you would probably need two medium coats or three thin coats for full opacity (it is to the thinner end of OPIs formula spectrum). Once the base was dry I added a couple of quick swipes of the next colour – at this stage the mani does look a bit strange but the stamping really pulls the colours together. My thumb also has swipes in Jade is the New Black but I am rubbish at photographing my thumb. When all was finished I just top coated with HK Girl for shine et voila – this really was a simple and quick mani.

Island2

I got a little carried away with props when I was photographing this mani at 3am… this is one of those sand filled lizards, he lives on my shelf of curiosities along with other small toys and random items.

Islandmani

The wooden mask you can see was a gift from my Mum from her holiday in Cape Verde on the island of Sol. He stands watch on my bookcase – I really should get him up on my wall. I hope you’ve enjoyed the mani today, I am trying out a larger size of picture in my blog posts so let me know if this is better for you!  Hope you’re all having a great week!

15 comments on “Island inspired Mani

  1. Lisa
    July 21, 2014

    Love this so much !!! 🙂

  2. WonderfulWolf
    July 21, 2014

    Looks super cool! And I do like the colour combo!

  3. Lisa N.
    July 21, 2014

    These look awesome! I like the fun colors and the design almost looks tribal to me too.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      July 21, 2014

      Thanks Lisa 😀 I am a bit obsessed with this mani actually, don’t want to take it off.

  4. L.G. McCrafty
    July 21, 2014

    I LOVED those beanie baby animals with the shiny print! I had a turtle one that I used as a paperweight for years!! So cute! now if only they would make a polish color to match them all! lol

  5. MO
    July 21, 2014

    Oh wow – love this! The colours look amazing against the black stamping. And yeah, the little gecko dude is kinda cute x

  6. Lindsay (Nail That Accent)
    July 22, 2014

    So creative

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      July 22, 2014

      Thank you – I find loads of inspiration on IG these days and try and channel it into stuff for the blog, it’s been a big help in slowly getting my mojo back 😀

  7. Pingback: July in Manis | Pocket Money Polishes

  8. Catherine Dream
    July 31, 2014

    Brilliant idea, stamping black over these different brights, pretty.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2014 by in Mainstream, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
