Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Luau Party On My Nails (featuring OPI)

OPI I Just Can't Copeacabana

I also tried out two new techniques on my nails – the first of which is a circle gradient (rather than a linear gradient) for this I used OPI Kiss Me On My Tulips, I Just Can’t Cope-acabana, Toucan Do It over Barrym Matt white (two coats). I added for blobs around a central point onto a small chunk of makeup and sponged on with a slight twisting motion. You could easily do something like this by dabbing on each colour individually too but this way was pretty quick for me. I topcoated the gradient and stamped using Barrym Matt White and Moyou Tourist 17 (aka the Aloha plate) this tropical flower pattern. The colours really remind me of fruit cocktails… nom nom.

Tropical flowers and a soft sunset style glow

At the copa... copa cabana...

My solid colour block nails are in Just Can’t Cope-acobana and Toucan Do It – two medium coats for each, I find that thin coats and the Brazil collection just don’t get along for whatever reason.

Finally for my main accent I again started with a base of Barrym Matt White and added a coloured decal. To make the decal I first picked up the flower image (from MoYou Tourist 17) onto my stamper (using Konad Special Black) and then using a very fine dotting tool added colour into the segments using a light touch, I used Jade is the New Black for the green leaves and the other colours are as above. Once these blobs were semi dry I added a coat of HK Girl Topcoat. Then I waited… I actually tried to remove the image too early on my first go so left the decal a good twenty minutes for my second attempt. Then using tweezers I lifted the image off my stamper, flipped it right side up and applied onto tacky topcoat on my nails. Finally I added another coat of top coat to seal everything in.

Mr Gecko makes another guest appearance

It was really fun trying out these new techniques – a lot of which I picked up on IG… so many great things coming up for nails in IG land at the moment, it’s definitely worth having. If you would like to follow me (I do post sneak peeks and very occasionally non nail things) then check me out here: @FrostFromFire

 

 

 

4 comments on “Luau Party On My Nails (featuring OPI)

  1. Lisa N.
    July 23, 2014

    Those are nice!

  2. Pingback: Pastel Palm Tree Mani (Serum No. 5) | Pocket Money Polishes

  3. LB BEAUTY DIVA
    August 21, 2014

    I looooove the luau look! Nice!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on July 23, 2014 by in Mainstream, Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
