Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Stephanie Says… I Like Big Butts… And I Cannot Lie

During my workout sessions with and without my trainer I have been doing a lot of cardio and arm workouts.  My goal has been to tone up my triceps and it kind of has happened.  I have lost 2.5 inches in my arms since May! I’m super happy about that but I feel like I have been neglecting other parts of my body.  I feel like my tush is as flat as a pancake.  I need to get back to basics and start working out the booty!  And that is exactly what I am going to do.  I need to rebuild my foundation so I can try challenging and different ways to tone up my body.

 

So let’s get to it! Back to Basics Big Butts Style!

  1. Squats, Squats, Squats are great for your booty. The lower you go the better!  This works your thighs, hips, butt, quads and hamstrings.  When rebuilding a foundation, start out slow.   Try doing 3 sets of 10 and gradually work your way up.  I will be starting a 30 day challenge!  I did it a few times before and it’s fantastic!

booty challenege

  1. Donkey Kicks! Although the name is funny, donkey kicks are a great exercise that you can do anytime, anywhere. This move will work both your butt and your lower back — all you need is a floor!

donkey-kicks

Here is a step-by-step guide to have the perfect Donkey Kick:

  1. Start on all fours, with your hands directly under your shoulders and your knees directly under your hips.
  2. Keep your right knee at a 90-degree angle as you slowly raise your leg behind you until your thigh is almost parallel to the floor. Pulse your flexed foot toward the ceiling by squeezing your glutes. Your back should remain perfectly still in a neutral spine. The motion should be small and controlled with the muscle doing the work and not momentum.
  3. Return to start position to complete one rep. Do 20 on each side, two to three times.

 

  1. Next up are Fire Hydrants! I always laugh while doing these because the only thing I can think about is a dog peeing on a fire hydrant. Fire hydrants are performed to build glutes and hamstrings.

Don’t know how to do them?? Check out the step-by-step guide:

  1. Position yourself on all fours with shoulders wide apart and palms flat.
    2. Keep your knees, hip wide apart and bend them at a 90-degrees angle.
    3. Keep your back straight, raise your right thigh and bring it close to your chest as much as you can.
    4. Then raise the same thigh out to the side by keeping the hips still.
    5. Now, kick your raised leg slowly in the backward position.
    6. Now perform these steps with your left

fire hydrants

  1. Hip-Lift Progression: This is an awesome way to relieve tension in your lower back and get a good work out at the same time. Plus this is super easy! You just lift your hips off that floor!

How to do it:

  1. Lie on your back with your arms at your sides with your knees bent and your feet on the floor.
  2. Lift your hips toward the ceiling. Hold for 1 count, and then lower back down.
  3. Repeat the lifts for 60 seconds, squeezing your glutes and hamstrings at the top of the range of motion. Be careful not to overarch your spine.
  4. To make this exercise more difficult, extend one leg at the top of the lift. Keep your thighs parallel and hold the lifted position for about 5 seconds.
  5. Keeping your hips up, place your foot back on the floor and then lower your hips.
  6. Repeat this exercise for 30 seconds; switch sides and do the move for another 30 seconds on the other leg.
  7. Plie Squats: These is exactly like a normal squat but instead have your legs further apart and turn your toes out.  This will hit the different muscles in your butt that a normal squat doesn’t normally hit.

hip lift

 

  1. Plie Squats: These is exactly like a normal squat but instead have your legs further apart and turn your toes out.  This will hit the different muscles in your butt that a normal squat doesn’t normally hit.

I hope you all get your booty back in to shape with me!

booty

 

As always, thank you for reading Stephanie Says.  I am always open to suggestions!

 

Xoxo,

Stephanie

 

DISCLAIMER: I am in no way shape or form a personal trainer, nutritionist, dietitian, doctor, nothing! My job isn’t even remotely close to being in the medical field.  This is just my personal opinion.  DO THESE EXERCISES AT YOUR OWN RISK.  If you are unsure if you can perform these tasks, consult with your doctor first! Trust me, you do not want to get hurt… it’s not fun! The picture is not me, but girl I wish it was!

 

Follow me on:

Twitter: @pmpstephsays

Instagram: @pmpstephaniesays

Email: pmpstephaniesays@gmail.com

Facebook: Pocket Money Polishes: Stephanie Says

 

3 comments on “Stephanie Says… I Like Big Butts… And I Cannot Lie

  1. Lisa N.
    July 23, 2014

    Thanks for sharing this! I really need to exercise my lower half of the body too.

  2. Pingback: Five Easy Toning Exercises | HealthCareInfo101

  3. Pingback: Stephanie Says… What do J.Lo, The Kardashians, and Iggy Azalea Have in Common? | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
