Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

N is for New York Noir

NYNoir

 

I knew I was going to end up using black for this week (such a summer colour) but I was doing a lot of tossing and turning about what look to go for. Then in the heat of the afternoon on Tuesday, Daddy Smith and I sat and watched a lot of rock documentaries in the cool of the house… outside is for mad people. When the White Stripes’ Seven Nation Army video came on with its mind boggling triangles I knew what I wanted to do with my nails and this is how I came up with this chevron design using crisp black, white and red. I did try and get super straight triangles with striping tape but the nail polish was drying really quick in the heat ad the lines were a mess so I ended up free handing these with the polish brush (middle strip and then triangle tip).

NYNoir2

For this look I used: Barrym Matt White in three thin coats (you can use two medium coats for the same finish),  Nails Inc Kate Spade New York Noir which came out with a glamour magazine at some point this year, really good basic black polish although I have to say mine is getting quite thick now. For my red I decided to use NOPI Red-y for A Pedi – this is lovely and bright classic red although it isn’t super opaque so when layered over white the orange tones in its base did come out a little more. I top coated the nail art with HK Girl and the swatched nails with Rimmel Topcoat. After photographing this mani shiney I felt something was missing so added a layer of George Matt Topcoat.

NYNoir3

…TADAAA All finished and in the end a simple but effective mani I think. DUM dum dum dum dum DUM DUM! *hums*.

NYNoir4

Gratuitous extra shot of me groping an ice cold coke can because in my head this felt matchy matchy 😀 Have you ever found your name on the side of one of these cans? I frequently end up with Stephen or some such, I quite like the latest editions of “mate” and “love”. Trying to cut down my OPI wishlist (for next time I have any money) and trying to decide if I want the Coke red or the Mustang Red – I have been told and seen they are different but.. I feel like I can only justify one new red any opinions? ALTHOUGH maybe I should wait for the winter Gwen collection – that bad boy is PACKED with reds.

Don’t forget to check out what the other bloggers are up to for this challenge this week, as ever I will be adding links to the AtoZ Hubpage as quickly as a I can.

9 comments on “N is for New York Noir

  1. Lisa N.
    July 24, 2014

    I really like how the colors look together here.

  2. thebubblybrunette
    July 24, 2014

    Love the final look!

  3. Pingback: July in Manis | Pocket Money Polishes

  4. Pingback: O is for… | Pocket Money Polishes

  5. Catherine Dream
    July 31, 2014

    So totally matchy matchy : D

    Love the matte effect!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      July 31, 2014

      Thanks 😀 I don’t matte often but it definitely worked for this design.

      • Catherine Dream
        July 31, 2014

        Me neither, but I always like bloggers’ mattified nails : D

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on July 24, 2014 by in Mainstream, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
