Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Pastel Palm Tree Mani (Serum No. 5)

Serum1

This is the mani I put together as my entry to Rainbow Connection’s Serum No 5 Birthday competition – I lay in bed all night trying to work out what to do with this stunning silver holographic glitter topper. As I was faffing about becoming human this morning I spotted my wired headscarf and voila the idea for pastel palm trees was born.

Serum2

I started with two medium coats of Barrym Matt White on my pinky, middle and index fingers and one coat of Barrym Silver Foil on my ring and thumb digits. Once the silver was dry I added two coats of Serum No 5 Girl’s BFF – it really does shine bright like a diamond! The other great thing about this topper is how even the fine and larger shimmer spread – no dragging to the tips of the bigger glitter particles.

Serum5 For my pastel backdrop I added BarryM Matt White, Moyra Pastel 602 (mint), Moyra Pastel 603 (lilac), Moyra  27 (baby blue) and OPI  Kiss Me I am Brazilian (pink) to a small piece of makeup sponge. Once I had blotted this on a piece of paper to blend the colours slightly I dabbed this onto my nails – using a slightly different orientation each time.

For some reason some of the colours have bleached out of the photographs but the super pale pastels are a little more apparent in real life. I used Rimmel Finishing Touch Top Coat to blend and even out the surface of my nails. This topcoat is no good for nail art on the whole as it tends to smudge but this does make it perfect for gradient blending and does give a lovely shine to the nail.

Over the top of this I added one thin coat of Serum No. 5 Girl’s BFF to add some sparkle and fizz, plus as this was the superstar of this mani I really wanted to use it on every nail.

Finally when this was dry I added palm trees from the MoYou Tourist 17 plate (yes… that one again, what can I say… I love it) using Konad Special Black Polish. I did manage to get confused and stamp the trees the wrong way up for photographing and considering this in my Cinderella (non-blogging hand) anyway, I did get in a bit of a tizz trying to snap pictures.

Serum6

Overall I am super pleased with how this mani turned out and it is a lovely sister mani to the bright tropical mani on my other hand – yep,  I officially don’t match but I don’t mind as both manis are beautiful (in my opinion). BIG HAPPY SECOND BIRTHDAY to Serum No.5!! To check out other manis for this competition enter #serumbirthdaycompetition on IG 🙂 Big thanks to Rainbow Connection for this super fun celebration too.

 

5 comments on “Pastel Palm Tree Mani (Serum No. 5)

  1. Lisa N.
    July 24, 2014

    Such cute palm trees! That Serum color is pretty too.

  2. Deliciate
    July 25, 2014

    Love these! X

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      July 25, 2014

      Thank you!!! Loving your blog posts too! I’ll try and remember to give you a shout out next time I do a post.

  3. MO
    July 26, 2014

    Love! Really cute x

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on July 24, 2014 by in Indie, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
