Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

O is for…

A England Ophelia, OPI Orange You Going To The Game and OPI OPI… Eurso Euro – yes that’s right today I used every O polish I own. I kind of saw it as a bit of a personal challenge and following yesterday’s resolution I thought ‘why not?’. I kind of wish I had done photos of the stages for you BUT I was cooking dinner for the family whilst nail painting so had a lot on the brain.

MidnightSun2

So let’s go through these bad boys – my thumb is painted in one very opaque coat of OPI… Eurso Eurso which is a great indigo polish (naturally my camera reads it as more blue than it is). On my index and pikie I have one coat of Ophelia which has amazing purple shimmer which only occasionally catches the light in this gothic black crelly base – I do wish the shimmer was more visible in this polish but it is very pretty when it hits the light just right.

MidnightSun1

On my two accent fingers I have a gradient – I started with a base coat of Barrym Matt White and once this was dry I painted stripes of OPI Eurso…Euro, Moyra 87 and Orange You Going To The Game? and gently sponged on two coats for good colour. This gradient was the hardest gradient to clean up and I’m not entirely sure why, maybe I just made more of a mess than normal. Orange You Going To The Game? is a frosty candy orange which you can see swatched up with others from the OPI MLB collection HERE. I actually find the finish in this case gives the “sunset” another dimension of glow. I top coated with Rimmel to blend the colours and then took the sun design from Moyou Tourist 17 in Konad Special Polish Black.  I did consider stamping in Ophelia but was in a bit of a rush so wanted a polish I could trust to stamp well. I did consider stamping in a lighter polish but then I got this idea of a “midnight sun” in my head to go with my night blooming flowers and welll… it had to be black.

MightnightSun3

I topcoated the stamping with the dregs of my HK Girl Topcoat – I am working on getting a new bottle very soon but for now I am rationing this for protection of nail art only (as it is a non-smudging topcoat, unlike the Rimmel one I have). I hope you like this mani and don’t forget to see what everyone else is up to by heading to the AtoZ Series Hubpage.

 

9 comments on “O is for…

  1. Lisa N.
    July 31, 2014

    Really like that design along with the gradient behind it.

  2. Deliciate
    July 31, 2014

    They look great!

  3. Catherine Dream
    July 31, 2014

    This midnight sun looks very zen and oriental, love it.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      July 31, 2014

      Thank you! I just realised it reminds me of a tiedye skirt I had when I was little.

  4. MO
    July 31, 2014

    These are so gorgeous. Completely agree that it has that tie dye feel to it x

  5. Valerie Negron
    August 4, 2014

    I love the colors and design!!!! Gorgeous!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2014 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
