Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Guest Starring: BionichipsandFingerTips

I only bumped into Verity very recently but ever since I have been dying to get her to do a guest post and when she posted these nails tonight I pounced. A massive bonus is that this girl is unbelievably lovely… downside is I can’t hate her for being so talented ❤  Don’t forget to follow her on IG and like on facebook – I promise it’s worth it! 
These nails originated from Morven (Pretty Quirky) showing me a painting she’d acquired in Madagascar. I fell in love with it straight away – I mean come on, look at the gorgeous colours! It was a painting she wanted to turn into nail art herself but kindly allowed me to give it a try 🙂
original
I like to approach my nail art in stages (so I don’t get overwhelmed of confused! It happens. Often). So I began by drawing an incredibly detailed and accurate plan……
detailed plan
My next step was to deal with the gradient background. I don’t do gradients very often because I can never be bothered with the cleanup, but tonight I decided to try the peel off base coat technique. I effectively covered my cuticles and surrounding area with PVA glue and waited for it to dry. It seriously made a difference. I pretty much just had to poke at it with an orange stick and all the mess and paint just peeled right off! I have no idea why I was so surprised at this but it made my night anyway haha!
Fast forward through gradient. Sponge here, sponge there, sponge, sponge, sponge.
All the detail from now on is in acrylic paint. It would be impossible to achieve this much detail using polish! I started by painting all the basic shapes like the road, the trees and the bushes. then I just built up the layers of colour and detail. I’ve learnt that the most useful thing you can do in nail art is be good at covering up mistakes! Otherwise I’d be here for HOURS starting over and over again!
Baobab
As you can see, I’m an incredibly neat and tidy person and like to keep my ‘workstation’ organised. In actual fact, my ‘workstation’ is actually a teeny coffee table covered in newspaper that I hunch over on the sofa in front of the TV. But, what can I say? It works for me!!
Workstation
I hope you love these nails as much as I do : )
Verity xx
7 comments on “Guest Starring: BionichipsandFingerTips

  1. MO
    August 3, 2014

    I’ve said it before but these are my favourite yet! x

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      August 3, 2014

      Verity did a killer job on these – I have told her she’s not allowed to take them off.

      • MO
        August 3, 2014

        Haha. I agree. And as she won’t be needing all those polishes any more she should give then to us x

    • Verity
      August 3, 2014

      Best get them on the wall….oh….wait…. x

  2. Lisa N.
    August 3, 2014

    Those look amazing and so realistic!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      August 3, 2014

      My mind is blown – and they’re on her real nails. Girl is crazy, could you imagine getting a chip in such a lovely mani?

  3. Pingback: Guest Starring: Bionic Hips&Fingertips with Halloween Pineapples! | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on August 2, 2014 by in Guest Post, Nail Art and tagged , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
