Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Inspired Nails

There is a new group on facebook created by Kerrie (of PishPoshandPolish) and myself  called “Inspire Me Nails” for sharing nail art ideas and sources of inspiration and every two weeks the group will have a challenge and it is the manis I create for this challenge that I will be sharing with you. Since next week will be the start of the first fortnight challenges I decided to bring together a couple of things that have been inspiring me and turn them into a mani.

The colours in this Design Seed were my first point of inspiration. http://design-seeds.com/index.php/home/entry/feathered-hues15#.U9V5yww80o8.facebook

I loved the combination of nude into aqua/blue into this off lemon shade so really wanted to use those colours in my mani – I chose OPI Tickle My France-y, Moyra 27 and Moyra 601. I did this mani on my cinderella hand which meant everything needed to be done with my non-dominant hand which meant that feathers were pretty much out of the question – instead I went for a gradient and some colourblocking.

Inspire4

Now I will apologise for this mani being less than perfect but I had one of those bad days where I knocked over things, spilt studs everywhere, messed up nails and generally caused choas whilst trying to paint nails wrong handed. To create my colour blocks I used striping tape and applied the colour over my white base into the little sections – for clean lines you need to remove the tape whilst the polish is still wet and to even up the finish apply topcoat (otherwise you end up with small ridges where the colours meet). For an amazing colour blocking tutorial why not check out Pretty Quirky’s 80s Geometric Mani.

Inspire2

For my gradient accent nail I started with a base of white and then sponged on my three colours – it took a little while to build up these light colours but I think it was worth it in the end for that soft and dreamy look inspired by those feathers. Onto the dry gradient I stamped a geometric square pattern – annoyingly this did not translate very clearly onto my nail but I liked it to leave it be. This is a portion of the full plate image that is MoYou Artist 04. I’ve just noticed how cool toned the photos have turned out – someone remind me to check my camera settings!

Inspire3

Now my flower accent nail wasn’t supposed to be flowers at all but I fudged up the nail royally and was running out of patience fast; digging through my nail art box I found the second half of a water decal set from Born Pretty Store and thought the colours would would well with this design. I cut down the image and soaked in water, the image slid off the backing paper easily and was in place with in minutes and topcoated. Since I had already added silver studs to my blocked nails I decided to add silver circle studs to the flower centres (as these are gold glitter originally and didn’t quite go).

So this mani isn’t what I originally planned and took far too long to do but I actually like the end result and it works pretty well with the sister mani I have on my other hand (you’ll have to wait until Thursday though to see that).  Hope you’re all having a great weekend and enjoyed this new addition to the blog schedule. What inspires you?

4 comments on “Inspired Nails

  1. Lisa N.
    August 4, 2014

    Great inspiration! I like the color palette too.

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      August 4, 2014

      Thank you 😀 I think it ended up being a really nice mani, it’s growing on me the more I wear it.

  2. MO
    August 10, 2014

    Love the colours you used for this mani. Can;t believe this is on your Cinderella hand as well x

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      August 10, 2014

      It’s amazing what simple techniques can produce. I really love art that can be done on both hands so trying things out on Cindy is really cool.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on August 3, 2014 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
