Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Marc By Marc Jacobs Headphones (with Nail Art)

Disclosure: Product sent to me for honest review by PR.

Something a bit different to share with you all today as last week I was contacted to do some nail art inspired by a phone accessory from Three Mobile – it sounded like a really fun challenge to me and as a bonus I have a review of the accessory for you too. So… let’s get going!

Three4

The back of the box reads:

These Marc By Marc Jacobs ear buds are the ultimate accessory for listening to your music on the go. They rock high-fidelity sound in a sleek and stylish package. These ear buds are compatible with Mp3 players, mobile phones, and other audio players. Get plugged in with Marc…

I have never owned any “special” headphones – when my original headphones for my ipod died I simply picked up some cheap replacements in the super market. My iPod is currently 7 years old and still going strong, the replacement headphones (I think we were up to replacement number 10 or 11) are not. I was really impressed when I took these very swanky headphones out of the packaging as the wires are not the typical plastic covered set up but feel like cord or bungee rope (although without the elasticity). The connections all seem solid too and this easily fitted into my Nano.  So check for being compatible with my MP3 device.

Three5

These were really sent to me to try out with my phone which I don’ t actually keep music on but I do watch a lot of Youtube and Netflix on my phone. I have a Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini which I am really learning to love after having been very anti touch screens for a long time – although it was a huge change from my Blackberry – I have found the Samsung to be very easy to use and with the swipe texting I am slowly getting up to speed with the touch screen. Samsung have recently released an S5 which looks AMAZING and you can check out the phone and the offers Three have on the device by using this link –http://www.three.co.uk/Discover/Devices/Samsung/Galaxy_S5 .

The phone picked up the headphones straight away and was good to go – no more risking waking up the family when browsing late at night OR disturbing other people when I am out on the go.

Three2

The earbuds fit really comfortably in my ear and this set does come with two replacements which is nice. I found the sound quality to be very good and the headphones highly responses to changes in device settings. I did hook these up to my laptop and messed with bass etc settings just to see how they would do – it was great! (Check and check for working with my mobile and other audio devices).

Back tracking momentarily to the cord – I also found the material was good for not ending up in the normal awful tangle that headphones descend into (no matter how careful you are).

I honestly did expect these headphones in many ways to be more about aesthetics but so far I can not fault the functionality of theses. Let’s talk a little bit more about the designer factor though…

Three

I did my best to recreate these funky headphones on my nails. I am not a cat person as such but I love the pop art fee of the black cat with white outline against the bright pink and black geometric print! For these nails I started by painting my nails in a base of OPI Kiss My Tulips which was a near dead match for the hot pink colouring of the Marc Jacobs design. Then I added small polka dots to my nails to match the cord and diagonal stripes to my accent (I stamped using MoYou Pro 01 XL as I wanted to have time to work on the cat but you can easily do stripes free hand or with tape and you could do the polka dots using anything with a small point such as a toothpick or paperclip if you don’t have dotting tools).

I free handed the cats shape in black first and then added details in white acrylic (using a very small brush from my art brush collection)… I then promptly smudged the work by being too impatient with my topcoat.

MarcJacobs3

His delicate features stood no chance against the blob of topcoat – all of the white acrylic from his nose lifted off in one stroke. I would suggest giving your acrylic at least 10 minutes to properly dry – especially on intricate free hand work as it is a bit gutting when it all goes wrong.

My nail friends suggested using a nail pen or gel pen to re-go over the white of the design (which are great fix solutions) but I doggedly decided just to start again and with a bit of patience achieved the design you see throughout the post. Ok it’s not quite perfect but I think it captures the funky and fun design of these headphones. I usually avoid freehand work because it does take patience and time but I think I will try and do some more in the future because practice makes perfect and there is a lot of stunning free hand work going on out in the nail community!

These headphones can be purchased HERE and have an RRP of £40.

It was really fun to be inspired by something that has absolutely nothing to do with nails – a big thanks again for being sent the challenge (and these stunning headphones). Time for me to go and watch some more youtube tutorials I think… Hope you’re all having  a great week and if you have any manis inspired by random objects/products I would love to see them over on my facebook page!

9 comments on “Marc By Marc Jacobs Headphones (with Nail Art)

  1. Lisa N.
    August 5, 2014

    These are cute! I like the inspiration for it too.

  2. Rachael (RachosNL)
    August 5, 2014

    aww i really like these! your mani to match is just really cute 🙂

  3. Catherine Dream
    August 5, 2014

    Haha, that cat is adorable : )

    Fun, to be able to try these out! Love the pink cord.

  4. *~Sarah Lynn~*
    August 7, 2014

    These are fab, and what a fun opportunity!

  5. Sarah@PennyPinchingPolish
    August 8, 2014

    Awesome post hun, the nail are so cute! I love the headphones too 😀 xx

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on August 4, 2014 by in Fashion, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
