Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Wuthering Heights Inspired Mani

I picked up this book to read very late last night, I have read it a few times to pretty much just skip to my favourite sections now. This is not a book that I appreciated very much on my first read – I thought all the characters were pretty vile but on second read (when I was older) I actually got more into it. Ok so there is still a lack of charm to the characters but it is such an emotive book regardless of that and some of the quotes that come out of the book are just…. perfect. This is a dark and often brutal tale of doomed soul mates set around the isolated Wuthering Heights in the heart of damp, blustery, misty moors by Emily Bronte.

Source: http://imheathcliff.files.wordpress.com/2011/02/heathcliff_eichenbergwutheringheights.jpg

Source: http://imheathcliff.files.wordpress.com/2011/02/heathcliff_eichenbergwutheringheights.jpg

This mani didn’t come out quite how I wanted, lots of things went a bit squiffy (between word placement and testing out a new stamper) but regardless, I still like it.

WutheringHeights2

For my base I used one coat of this beautiful purple-grey colour from Nails Inc (Hyde Park Corner) – I chose this over a straight grey because it just made me think of misty days and hardy heather and thistles. For my stamping I chose OPI Vant To Bite My Neck? which just seemed a great gothic purple, and more interesting than black, definitely works well as a stamping polish. The tree branches from from MoYou Mother Nature 14 and I was trying out their stamper today, I don’t love it… I think it possibly needs some priming as it didn’t pick up very clear or sharp images.

WutheringHeights4

For my accent nail I used some scrunched up cling film to apply A England Fonteyn which is a stunning (slightly lilac) silver holo polish that I seem to use for everything – this was to represent mists and souls and ghosts… Can you tell this all made sense in my head?

WutheringHeights5

I transferred the text using the “vodka method” – although I used bicardi this time – this is 6pt font that I have flipped using paint so that when it transfers it is the right way round to be read and not a mirror image of itself. It is easier to read in real life but I wish it had been clearer – I think perhaps I need to invest in some decal paper. The words are part of one a great speech from Heathcliff:

“Catherine Earnshaw, may you not rest as long as I am living. You said I killed you–haunt me then. The murdered do haunt their murderers. I believe–I know that ghosts have wandered the earth. Be with me always–take any form–drive me mad. Only do not leave me in this abyss, where I cannot find you! Oh, God! It is unutterable! I cannot live without my life! I cannot live without my soul!”

My instagram  name ( @frostfromfire ) actually comes from another Wuthering Heights qu0te, this time a speech by the female antihero Cathy describing her love for Heathcliff:

“… Whatever our souls are made of his and mine are the same and Linton’s is as different as a moonbeam from lightning or frost from fire.”

Ok the following song is a little bit weird but it’s inspired by Wuthering Heights and I love it so had to include it:

13 comments on “Wuthering Heights Inspired Mani

  1. Lisa N.
    August 9, 2014

    These look great! I like how mysterious they appear too.

  2. MO
    August 10, 2014

    Great inspiration – you’ve been giving me major nail art envy recently – love this! x

  3. Catherine Dream
    August 13, 2014

    Gorgeous!! I just LOVE nails inspired by books/movies/poems – so much fun seeing how people translate themes into patterns in manis.

    As to Wuthering Heights, it’s genuinely one of my most beloved books, mostly for how sad it is, and how dark. I see it less as a romantic story, instead love how dark the characters are.

    Beautiful! I had no idea @frostfromfire came from Wuthering Heights : D

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      August 14, 2014

      hehe it is a bit of an obscure name I guess but the comparisons always stuck with me from that speech.

      You’re right, WH is such a sad story about the things people are capable of doing to each other. It has been haunting me since I did this mani though – I think I have watched nearly ever movie incarnation now.

      • Catherine Dream
        August 14, 2014

        Haha, I love the power manis have over us – I mean, when I did for example my Doctor Who mani I obsessed over Who way more than usual I feel. Love it : )

        And I really like how you put it – the things people do TO each other. Because I hear people saying this is a love story and about things people can do FOR love and stuff, and I really love the way this story follows things people have done TO EACH OTHER.

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        August 14, 2014

        I have always thought at the end that it is sad nothing really SOLID of Heathcliff remains, except his remains. He’s like a particularly bad storm that washed through the moors and then was gone when the sun broke through the clouds – you can see signs of his destruction but life goes on and there is no permanent mark. All that misery and suffering for nothing. I guess that is the point and the tragedy.

      • Catherine Dream
        August 14, 2014

        Yes!!! The void!!!

        I might love you.

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        August 14, 2014

        LOL WBFFs!

      • Catherine Dream
        August 14, 2014

        : DD

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        August 14, 2014

        We should be facebook friends, I feel we have much to discuss 😀

      • Catherine Dream
        August 14, 2014

        Yes! Totally : D

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on August 9, 2014 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
