Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

I went Mango for Pineapples.

Pineapples were the fruit of the year – you could leave the house covered from head to toe in them and be very on trend. Not going to lie, even though I dislike eating this particular tropical delicacy I am IN LOVE with the prints and accessories it has inspired. I was pretty gutted when there were no pineapples on the first lot of MoYou tropical plates but then the second release was filled with them – there was much joy. I ended up ordering the large full plate image (Tropical 07) but it’s taken me FOREVER (well… feels like it) to get around to getting a mani done. I can’t believe the nail world has already started turning towards autumn although this does mean it’s almost brown time again which makes me very happy…

Pineapple1

As you might also remember from the haul post I got a selection of OPIs from “The Mystery Collection” – this is Frog In My Throat aka Just Spotted The Lizard and I ADORE it. I can’t believe I didn’t always love duo-chromes; this is stunning, and a very easy application in two coats, flipping between gold and green. There is also a very fine fleck in this duo-chrome similar to that in Not Like The Movies which just adds an extra special something.

Pineapple2

I thought it made a quirky backdrop for this mani. The pineapple is stamped in Konad Special Black Polish using the larger end of the Konad Double Ended Stamper. I always use a plastic scraper on Moyou plates as I find the metal one just doesn’t play nicely with them. With these fine designs cleaning up these plates can be a pain but I wipe them over with cotton wool and remover first then use a cotton but to get into all the tiny details.

Pineapple4

The embellishments on my second accent nail come from some Born Pretty Store nail art wheels I recently bought  – these lil rhinestones are TINY but I actually quite like that as it means I have room for LOTS of them and more elaborate designs. I kept things relatively simple here and tried to colour match the tones in Frog… 

Pineapple3

Pretty basic mani but I hope you like it! What do you think of the pineapple trend? and how do you feel about duo-chromes? I ordered my choice from the OPI Nordic Collection last night, any guesses what I chose? Autumn is coming… 

 

 

One comment on “I went Mango for Pineapples.

  1. Lisa N.
    August 16, 2014

    What an interesting green here! I like the simple design too.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on August 16, 2014 by in Mainstream, Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Facebook Follow

Instagram
Random Nail Art
