Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Space Bunny (Post number 400)

 

 

We’re at post number 400! WOOHOO. I am trying to think of a good way of celebrating this milestone – perhaps I’ll try and get a giveaway or something organised but in the mean time I have some fun nails to share with you. Steph is off poorly with a headache today so please excuse her absence, she will be back on Friday with Stephanie Says!
SpaceBunny3

This was one of those manis that popped into my head, and it did so the second I saw the leaping rabbit on the MoYou Mother Nature plate; I have no idea why but I had this vision of a rabbit jumping over the moon. Since my blogging hand was occupied I decided a good way of putting stars onto my spacey scene would be to use some spare stars from my polish making days (you can pick up sample size bags of glitter from Glitter Unique which are perfect amounts for nail art as well as for using to make polishes). There are lots of other easy ways to do stars now from using nail vinyls and decals to stamping or even making your own decals and painting them free hand before transferring onto your nail. If you’re ambidextrous you can of course just paint them on.

SpaceBunny2

The base of this mani is OPI Blue Chips which you may remember from my recent haul post – this is a stunning blue holo polish. It does have a slightly textured finish from the glitter BUT it smooths out with topcoat. It leans towards a thicker formula for OPI but is not too difficult to work with and needs just 1-2 coats for good coverage (depending on how thick your coats are). I think this polish is stunning although I would definitely recommend doubling up on base coats as this is a super pigmented blue and why tempt fate?

SpaceBunny

For my moon I freehand painted a little semi circle onto my nail tip in OPI The Glittering Night (aka Metallic4Life). This polish is gorgeous! On it’s own it needs 2-3 coats for full opacity but it is so pretty and glitter packed (but not chunky!). Weirdly,  I think I prefer The Glittering Night to Blue Chips as a polish (I did it as a full nail on my thumb) but that might just be me, I seem to like blue in the bottle more than I actually like it on my nail. Crazy polish girl issues right here. For the bunny I used Konad Special Polish White which I ordered from ebay, I picked it up on the small end of my Konad Stamper taking off any excess image that I picked up (this is part of a full image plate) and then added a thin layer of HK Girl TopCoat to create a decal – I did this just for ease of placement, if you’re a confident stamper I am sure you can go right ahead and stamp straight onto the nail. I am so impressed with this white polish for stamping, really crisp and opaque. Everything was topcoated in nail art friendly topcoat to seal it in and smooth any edges on the glitter. Voila! This is an incredibly sparkly mani and isn’t 100% what I pictured but I still like it and just think the bunny is insanely cute!

7 comments on “Space Bunny (Post number 400)

  1. Lisa N.
    August 20, 2014

    That jumping bunny is so cute!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      August 20, 2014

      Thank you! insanely adorable… I am a crazy rabbit lady so couldn’t resist when I saw him on the plate.

  2. Cazzy Durcan
    August 22, 2014

    I’ve sent a link to my mum – she’s obsessed with moon hares and will love this!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      August 22, 2014

      I didn’t know moon hares were a thing 😀

      • Cazzy Durcan
        August 22, 2014

        Update – she loves them! And yeah, moon hares are a thing lol. with this bunnies long ears it’s actually a fantastic representation!

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        August 22, 2014

        😀 I mean I guess it might be a hare… but I prefer to think of it as a bunny. Hope your mum is all good – me and you need to catch up soon 🙂 I miss our chats.

  3. Pingback: MoYou30kChallenge: Alice in Wonderland – The White Rabbit | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2014 by in Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
