Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

R is for Red Lights Ahead Where

and ROOOXXXXAAANNNEEE!! The inspiration for these nails came in a flash – I was originally going to do racing nails with stripes and a ferrari logo but just wasn’t feeling it. When my friend suggested traffic lights (shout out to Nail Art Novice!), because of the name, I stopped for a moment and thought… yeh… about that name. This stunning OPI was part of the Holland collection and lets face it in combination with this name that can only mean peep shows and ladies of the night from Amsterdam’s famous Red Light District. Kids, if you don’t know what I am talking about don’t ask your parents cause I will get in trouble and maybe don’t google it either. In the words of Mrs Potts: you’ll understand when you’re older.

*Quick disclaimer – these pictures fail at being colour accurate, I did try. Red Lights Ahead…Where? is a neon red polish with orange undertones although not a true neon as it does dry to a shiney finish. There are colour accurate swatches out there, I think this polish is supposed to be a dupe for OPI Cajun Shrimp or CG Roguish Red but don’t quote me on that. 

10622362_10154520479705383_733698909_n

I used just one medium coat of Red Lights but I think two would probably be better with this polish as in bright lights there is VNL. I did find this polish liked to pool in my cuticles but it isn’t too hard a polish to work with and the colour is just so intense and vivid *drool*.

10569235_10154520479710383_655991710_n

My fishnet nail look is inspired by the current negative space trend and in no small part by my blogging friend Cat’s Claws and her nails that just made me think of a peep show or nakedness through blinds… I know, I know mind in the gutter.

10609092_10154520479725383_1381383976_n

To create the nails I used two thin coats of Moyra 47 which is a sheer pinky nude colour – you don’t need to do this if your nails aren’t stained like mine (npa problems). Once this had dry I stamped on this net type image from MoYou Pro XL 1 in Konad Special Polish Black.

10617367_10154521088680383_724156455_n

Everything got some HK Girl topcoat loving and ooh la la I am done. I actually love this nail look and its definitely not something I would have ever tried in the past. I hope you like them too! Don’t forget lots of other bloggers will be posting up their ‘R’ contribution for the AtoZ challenge HERE on the hubpage (which I do my best to update asap throughout the day).

Anyone else finding their skin is very dry at the moment? I am having to seriously lemony flutter it up to be even close to camera ready (apologies for excessive sheen).

 

 

6 comments on “R is for Red Lights Ahead Where

  1. Catherine Dream
    August 21, 2014

    Yay! My peep show nails inspired you : DD I was so excited to find this post has landed already – love it!

    The fishnet nail just completes the look – RAWR! : )

    The story about traffic lights, Ferraris and finally Red Light District is awesome! Gorrrrgeous.

    Muah!

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      August 21, 2014

      Hehe just a trip into the crazy processes my brain goes through when working on a mani . Glad you enjoyed it!

      • Catherine Dream
        August 21, 2014

        I did! It’s like a visit to Willy Wonka’s factory, but instead of chocolate there’s nail polish fumes and your mind in the gutter : D

        : P

      • pocketmoneypolishes
        August 21, 2014

        Lol pretty much sums it up

  2. Lisa N.
    August 21, 2014

    That’s a great color and I like the netting accent nail too.

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on August 21, 2014 by in Swatch and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
