Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

OPI Nordics are here! Suzi Has A Swede Tooth and Ice-Bergers and Fries.

NordicSun3

So I was meant to be saving these pictures for next week but I am just too excited about this mani – it may not be the craziest thing I have ever done but still totally in love. Presenting OPI Suzi Has A Swede Tooth (pink) and OPI Ice-Bergers and Fries (brown) from the brand new OPI Nordic collection for fall/autumn. This collection is a bit of a weird one and has received mixed reviews on the colours but as far as I know everything but the gold Finnish polish (which is reportedly brush strokey/streaky) has a good formula. It is a standard 12 polish release, mainly creme finish polishes – I would recommend checking out Peachy Polish for swatches and dupe comparisons. Originally I was only going to get Ice-Bergers and Fries as I pretty much totalled out my budget for two months in one month BUT fate conspired against my bank balance and I decided on a whim to get the pink too.

I was a little concerned about the pink being a dupe – all medium pinks tend to look the same to me on a computer screen and for some reason I was obsessed with the idea that Swede Tooth was going to be close to Kiss Me I’m Brazilian. It is really not. I have 5 pink OPI (not including pastels and shimmers) and this is totally different from any of them.

NordicSun2

It is a great medium pink with dusty cool fuscia undertones – I would say in a similar colour family to Kiss Me on My Tulips although that polish is much darker and more saturated. This dries darker than the bottle by a good shade or two and applies evenly in 2 coats. I had a small nightmare trying to get colour accurate pictures for you and this is the closest I got as the sun peeked out last thing this afternoon. My camera is really not on my side when it comes to colours at the moment.

NordicSun1

For my ring finger accent nail I started with a base of Barrym Matt White and then water marbelled together the two Nordic polishes. I am so chuffed with how this water marble turned out – the polishes behaved very well in terms of spreading and I used PVA glue around my nails to speed up the often laborious clean up process connected to water marbling. I still think this technique is a pretty expensive one in terms of the amount of polish used BUT totally worth it for a cute and unique accent.

NordicSun4

Deciding this single accent looked a little lonely I grabbed some zig zag french tip guides (purchased from Born Pretty Store – although you can get them on ebay OR buy vinyls, so plenty of options) and added two to my nail before painting one coat of Ice-Bergers and Fries over the top. I removed the stickers while the polish was still wet for clean lines and then topcoated with HK Girl. I have tested this polish alone on a nail and again it’s a lovely two coater as well. I am looking forward to doing more with this polish when we finally get fully into the autumn season. Taking so much will power right now to resist it but I still have a few more summer designs for you!

I know this isn’t a normal combination of colours but I think these tones work really well together – perfect for a transition between seasons. They make me think of valentines chocolates too but that is completely the wrong end of the year. Hope you’re all having a cracking weekend! ❤

 

6 comments on “OPI Nordics are here! Suzi Has A Swede Tooth and Ice-Bergers and Fries.

  1. Lisa N.
    August 23, 2014

    Great colors together here! i really like the design you did too.

  2. Pingback: Toe-tally nice orange slice! | Pocket Money Polishes

  3. MO
    August 25, 2014

    I think they look great together. And the water marble is fab! x

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      August 25, 2014

      Thank you 😀 I am never doing another water marble cause I will just sulk if it doesn’t turn out this pretty 😛

  4. Pingback: Autumn Hauling | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2014 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
