Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Toe-tally nice orange slice!

Orange3

China Glaze Toe-tally Textured came out last year along with 5 (I think) other colours, and as matte textures the collection was pretty much over looked next to Zoya and OPI’s sparkly contributions to this trend. Emma (Imagination in Colour) recently asked me if I thought this trend was coming to an end as brands seem to be slowing or stopping releases, my gut reaction was NO but when I stopped to think about it, I began to wonder too… What do you think? What do you think of the trend as a whole? I remember when it first started I thought it was faddy and not really that great but now I have quite a few textured polishes that I adore – I am a fickle girl – and the trend really has been going quite a long time across almost the complete spectrum of brands.

Orange2

I traded for this texture (and some other polishes) a while back and while I LOVE orange I really don’t seem to wear it that much, however, the orange slice images from the MoYou tropical plates finally gave me an idea on how to use this dusty untried. SO, I used Toe-tally Textured as an all over accent on my ring finger – this is two regular coats. Application on this polish was really easy although it isn’t the quickest drying polish that isn’t really new or surprising for textures. I painted a base of Barrym Matt White onto all my other fingers (two medium coats in this instance) and then set to work with some simple nail art.

orange1

I used a larger dotting tool to add Toe-Tally in a polka dot pattern. I did think about adding some green leaves to turn them into oranges but I wanted to keep the colour palette on this mani really simple and all about this sunshine orange. I used Zoya Thandie to stamp from a portion of the full plate image on MoYou 07 these lovely orange cross sections – this is a larger image portion too which meant there was more than enough to stamp my thumb (which is too broad for the smaller MoYou images). Quick note on Thandie I do not LOVE the formula on this polish, it is a bit watery and I do have bald spot issues with it this is the only Zoya so far where I have had any issues and it isn’t entirely unworkable, it just needs some patience.

Really easy mani and definitely achievable on both hands – if you struggle dotting your Cindy hand then you could create a decal by applying some quick drying topcoat to wax paper or a ziplock bag and once it is dry adding your textured dots. Then remove these decals, trim and place onto some wet topcoat on your nail.

I am trying to cram in as many of my summer mani ideas as I can and fight the urges to jump head first into my beautiful autumn polishes – I recently invested in two from the OPI Nordic collection and picked up all three of the Miss Universe 2013 collection (all currently on Fragrance Direct for £3.99) which includes two purples that are PERFECT for autumn. Emma recently reviewed the Barrym Gelly fall/winter release and for the first time in ages I am really excited about heading to boots for some polish as the colours are gorgeous and I am reliably informed the application is great. Autumn/Fall lines are so exciting for me this year as BROWN is finally well and truly on trend… I knew you’d all come around eventually 😉

Hope you’re all having a great start to the week 😀

 

5 comments on “Toe-tally nice orange slice!

  1. Lisa N.
    August 25, 2014

    What a fun orange manicure!

  2. Indian Lacquerade
    August 26, 2014

    It is a very pretty manicure. Nice and bright

  3. Pingback: Feeling Fruity | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on August 24, 2014 by in Nail Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
