Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

MoYou20K Rainbow Week: Red

I have ended up being sucked into a challenge week on instagram  – each day you have to make a new design using MoYou London nail plates and the assigned colour of the rainbow for that day. I don’t think I am going to do every day but I am planning to do as many as I can find inspiration for – my poor fingers are feeling the toll already though.

ANYWAY, Stephanie is having a busy week with her new house so I thought I’d share my red mani with you as a bonus post. I hope you like it and you’re not too disappointed to be missing out on Stephanie Says.

RedMani1

This is the picture I decided to go for as my entry – this is Cinderella hand, but I think I am getting the hang of painting her from all the use she’s been getting lately! For my red I chose OPI An Affair in Red Square which is the perfect holiday red in a glowy metallic shimmer finish  – originally released with the Russia Collection I believe this is now part of  the core line. This polish was a gift from Stephanie and one of my very first OPIs – it applies beautifully and could be a one coater although I always use a minimum of two coats of polish for all my manis (this makes a massive difference to the wear!).

Redmani2

For my middle finger accent I added a selection of various sized rhinestones in this oil slick black faux-swarovksi crystal finish – I picked these up on ebay for just 50p including postage so they were an utter bargain! I started placing the larger pieces and then added the smaller stones around in a curving shape. I didn’t lose any stones to the shower or wear and tear but a run in with some nail polish remover and a couple did pop off – so they do attach reasonably well into topcoat and can definitely be part of more than statement one night manis. I also experienced no colour run with topcoat which can happen with these cheaper nail art accessories.

Redmani3

For the stamping portion of this mani (originally it did go onto my middle finger too but I fluffed it up and was getting frustrated) I used a base of OPI Love.Angel.Music.Baby from the Gwen Stefani original collection – this is a two coat pale gold which dries to a matte finish. I LOVE this polish, I really should wear it more. I now have the silver version of this polish This Gown Needs A Crown and I can’t wait to try that out on my nails. On top of this beautiful base I stamped an image from MoYou Pro 3 which is an XL image plate – these images are slightly too large for my nails (and the small images are now becoming slightly too small… grrr) but I think in this case it still worked out quite nicely. Stamper and black polish are both made by Konad. Everything was finished with HK Girl topcoat.

I was inspired by the royal and regal nature of this sort of red which instantly had me wanting to combine it with the gold. A few people have commented that this reminds them of a luxury boudoir…  I suppose I can go with that, it is a pretty sexy mani and I loved wearing it.

Don’t forget to check out my instagram where I am posting all of these challenge manis and occasionally post sneak peeks of other things I am working on. I will try and get all of my challenge manis that I do posted up here with a detailed explanation at some point but my blogging plans are super packed at the moment so might be a case of just slotting them in. Let me know if you would like these posts though as hey, you’re the readers 😀 Hope you’re  having a wonderful week!

P.S. I would love to see your manis if you’re doing this challenge or if you’re on instagram so feel free to drop me a message below with your IG!

3 comments on “MoYou20K Rainbow Week: Red

  1. Lisa N.
    August 27, 2014

    Love the stamping and the studs look pretty neat too.

  2. Pingback: MoYou Rainbow: Chic in Pink | Pocket Money Polishes

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on August 27, 2014 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
