Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

S is for…

I used three S polishes today, all from OPI – Steady As She Rose, Suzi and the 7 Dusseldorfs, and, Show It and Glow it. 

SMani7S is a really common letter for names to start with and narrowing down choices from my stash was really difficult, at least it was until I decided to use 10 ten favourite polish: Steady As She Rose. I adore the Pirates of the Caribbean collection and I have recently spotted that Nail Polish Direct has ALL of them – so if you’ve missed out on this collection that is a really good chance to pick them up. Steady As She Rose is a super dusty, super pale pink with taupey/purple undertones. It is pretty perfect for me in two coats (one thin and one slightly thicker) and is a polish which benefits from a three stroke application and not too much fuss. Having this first colour made the rest of my decisions easy as I knew I wanted to try and use an untried and to aim for purple complementary polishes.

SMani5Show It And Glow It was my chosen untried and I am sorry but this is a HTF polish and I don’t know of any exact dupes although apparently WetNWild do something similar. This polish came out with the much coveted Burlesque collection and is packed with micro glitter in magenta/purple, silver and green. I am showing you 1.5 coats of coverage here  (over Steady As She Rose) – it covered really evenly on the first coat but I wanted to top up the finish for maximum sparkle. This polish is reasonably smooth without topcoat but I added a coat just for extra shine and sparkle anyway. Removal on this polish is your standard glitter affair but it is SO worth it for the twinkle. I also wore this on my thumb (which I don’t think I photographed anywhere in my pictures).

SMani4

Suzi and the 7 Dusseldorfs is a super glowy warm toned metallic purple from the German collection, I think this is *my* first time wearing this but  I recently gave Mum a manicure in this colour so I am not entirely counting it as an untried. This is slightly sheer on first coat but builds up beautifully with only minor brushstrokes if you’re a bit heavy handed with it – I believe I used two coats for my pinky and index in this instance. I also used this polish to stamp flamingos (from MoYou Tropical 6) onto my middle finger – this is far from an ideal stamping polish as it isn’t super opaque but I think it got the job done and I loved the reflective glowy sheen of the birds in this accent design. I have definitely fallen into my autumn colour palette but it’s fun combining with summery imagery for a transitional manicure. I know a lot of people don’t follow seasonal colour palettes, I don’t always although I do seem to naturally have certain colours and finishes I am more drawn to depending on the time of the year.  This polish (before I forget) is still available out on the internet in the same way a lot of the 12 bottle seasonal collections seem to linger around longer than the smaller collaboration ones.

SMani3

I can’t believe how close we are to the end of the AtoZ Series – I mean ok it’s still 7 weeks but definitely feels like we’re in the home stretch now. I will say that a lot of the bloggers who have taken part in this series are planning on doing another series after this, we’re still figuring out the details. Don’t forget as always all the links will be on the hub page as soon as possible – I know this week is a really bumper killer week from all the bloggers so definitely worth the extra couple of clicks this week! Happy Thursday all!

 

4 comments on “S is for…

  1. Lisa N.
    August 28, 2014

    Love the flamingo stamping. Its so cute!

  2. MO
    August 31, 2014

    Love this combination. Steady As She Rose was my first full-sized Opi and is still my favourite x

    • pocketmoneypolishes
      August 31, 2014

      I adore it so much – I was really unsure when I first got it as it was so pale and dusty and far from what I usually wore. So interesting it was your first! ❤

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on August 27, 2014 by in Nail Art and tagged , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
