Pocket Money Polishes

Email: pocketmoneypolishes@gmail.com Twitter:@PocketMPolishes Instragram:@FrostFromFire

Autumn Neutrals

There is no doubt about it – neutrals have been on trend all year but as we begin the change of season I can’t help but want to find a slightly different way to wear them. I love plain creams with graphic designs in the summer but as we get into the cooler months I find I am drawn to metallics and sparkles.

Goldglittermani3

The neutral I chose for todays manicure is OPI Skull and Glossbones from the Pirates of the Caribbean Collection – this is a dusty putty colour that I had a serious lemming for and then failed to use once I got it. The formula on this is a little thin but it reaches opacity in 2-3 coats and isn’t chalky at all.

Goldglittermani1

I decided to pair this polish with China Glaze Cast A Spell from one of their older halloween collections – this is a black based polish packed with golden micro glitter/shimmer. The shimmer is gorgeous going between a greeny gold and a warmer tone whilst the black covered the nails in 1-2 coats. This does have a smooth finish and is glossy on its own but as ever I still topcoat everything for longevity. I love the contrast of lights and darks and the autumn/winter season really brings all of these polishes out from the back of my drawers.

Goldglittermani2

Onto Skull and Glossbones I added a thin coat of La Femme Gold Glitter – I got this polish along with loads others from my Mum for Christmas a few years ago and all but forgot about them until I went through my stash and had a sort out. This is a straight forward, one size, simple gold glitter but I love it for that very reason. La Femmes take forever to dry on me so I definitely recommend quick dry topcoat and I doubt they’re 3 free as they’re fairly cheap and do smell quite strongly BUT if that is not a problem for you then on the whole I’ve had good experiences with the ones I have. After these nails had dried I stamped on these dotty circles from my MoYou Artist plate in Konad Special Polish Black and added HK Girl topcoat to seal the deal.

Goldglittermani4

I always think glitter polishes look best in motion but I did these bottle shots to give you a good idea of how twinkly these polishes are – now just imagine me here with these on my nails waving my hands around with them catching the light. Happy lady right here. The gold glitter in low light conditions catching the light is like magic… Ok confession time: today’s post was supposed to be my favourite autumn polishes BUT I got a bit stuck on how to begin so I am going to bump that post until next week when I’ve had more time to argue with myself and pick amongst my babies… polishes. Hope you’re all having a wonderful week! Let me know what you think of this mani, what your favourite autumn/fall polishes are and anything else on your mind with a comment below!

4 comments on “Autumn Neutrals

  1. Lisa N.
    September 15, 2014

    This is pretty! I really like the stamping.

  2. Monica@theRiteofAging
    September 16, 2014

    This is really cute! I love the mix of polishes and the stamping is awesome!

I love reading your thoughts and will always do my best to reply, thank you!

Information

This entry was posted on September 15, 2014 by in Nail Art, Swatch and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .

Archives

Follow Pocket Money Polishes on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram
Random Nail Art
